Hawaiian Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
this is a very tasty dish. i read many of the reviews and tried to change up the too sweet that many people said. i believe i succeeded. if you like spicy try this. add one tablespoon of crushed red pepper to the sauce mix. it makes it more of a chinese sweet and spicy dish that i just love. i will make this again very soon. okay, this is an update, (second time making it) i didn't noticed someone already tried the pepper flake idea. oops. but that means twice tried, must be a solid idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Followed the recipe modification that called for rice to be put in the casserole 1st with water and the chicken 'on top' - mistake.. As another person noted, the chicken was poached. Whatever flavor from the sweet-sour sauce was diluted by all the water. Although I left the dish in the oven 15-20 min longer than called for - some rice was still not cooked. I gave it a 3*. My son still gave (just) the chicken a 4*. I'm confident that following the original recipe gets you a 4* - at least. Will do the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! I THINK I OVER COOKED THE CHICKEN BUT IT WAS REALLY GOOD... THANK YOU FOR YOU RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is a good "starter" recipe for Sweet and Sour ANYTHING (chicken, shrimp, pork, etc.) you may choose to make. But it DOES seem to need ajustments in order to be palatable. I, personally, reduced the sugar, omitted the wine and added pineapple chunks. I whisked the sweet and sour sauce with about 2 or 3 T. corn starch (I do it "by hand", so my measurements are not always precise), the pineapple juice (from the can) and a bit (perhaps 2 T.) butter (we use the SALTED kind in my house). My family liked it well enough. And it looked REALLY pretty (quite a lovely presentation when served over white rice). But I'm not sure I will attempt to follow this recipe ever again. NOTE: I forgot to mention that I used skinned chicken thighs rather than skinless chicken breasts when I prepared this dish. Two thighs per serving and snap peas on the side and (as I said), it looked really pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
My husband said that it was a little too sweet for his taste, but it was perfect for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zooie82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This was delicious! I cut up the chicken into chunks and added whole green beans and pineapple chunks. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I made it for a Hawaiian luau for work and everyone loved it. However, it is a very sweet dish. It was too sweet for my taste. I made some alterations with the items on the skewers. I placed mushroom, chicken, red onion, shrimp, and pineapples. I used something to suit everyones taste. However, be careful not to overcook the shrimp. You probably should grill the chicken and then add the shrimp close to the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bankergrl1976

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
It was good, but too sweet for me. I used bone in thighs chicken. I cut the butter in half, as 1/4 cup seemed like it would be excessive. threw in some green pepper with 10 minutes to go. had some pineapple on the side. Went well with white rice. I don't know if I will make this again, but if I do I will cut the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Passable, but not something I would make again. I think the texture of the chicken (basically poached) turned me off the most, but I also found that the butter was too prominent a flavour. I'd suggest cutting the butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
VERY YUMMY but man is it sweet!!!! We served it over white rice and the leftovers heated up beautifully! We also added a little shake of red pepper flake to combat the sweetness and add a little extra zing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckledmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States