Hawaiian Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by KOKO4
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years, and it is delicious. I do a few things differently. I don't use the butter at all, and I use only a few drops of Worcestershire sauce. I'm not a huge fan of Worcestershire, but using a few drops will cut down on the sweetness of the sauce, without changing the flavor of it. I thicken the sauce with a mixture of cornstarch and water. I add some Monterey Jack cheese on top of the pineapple and let stay on the grill until melted. I serve this sandwich-style on 9-Grain bread that has been buttered and fried on one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOKO4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Loved it just with honey substituted for the brown sugar. Perfectly complementary with succulent braised carrots (butter and water reduction/steamed, salt and pepper seasonings). I only like dark meat but I think this would actually work well with chicken breasts. I omitted the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is on our monthly rotation list. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcalvin2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was really good even though I strayed from the recipes a little. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken and I didn't have any gas to grill so I skipped those steps and just browned the chicken (cut into bite pieces) in a pan and then added the 1/2 cup teriyaki to the rest of the sauce ingredients and poured it in with the chicken. then just let it cooked til the sauce thickened a bit. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great flavors in this dish. From the reviews of others I knew I was going to bake this recipe, but I misread the instructions and did not marinate the chicken. Instead, I punctured the chicken with a fork, poured the Teriyaki sauce over and baked it that way. Added cayenne, garlic powder & cornstarch to the sauce--great idea! Pineapple on top of the chicken the last 15 minutes made it perfect. Great dish--even though I can't follow directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made a few changes too... I cut soy sauce in half and left out butter and worcesteshire, and added garlic. I grilled chicken and pineapple it turned out great over a bed of rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyinMinnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was very good. I served this with rice and the Garlic Teriyaki Edamame recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I loved all of the pieces of this individually. The teriyaki marinated chicken on the grill the great. The grilled pineapple was delicious and the sauce was really good. But, when I put all of the pieces together, this was just too sweet for me. I typically love sweet sauces or pineapple with meats. But, the combination of the sweet sauce AND pineapple was too much for us. Not bad, it didn't go to waste. But not a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katanna
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
My version: Due to several factors (like my roommate telling me we had soy sauce when we didn't) I got a little creative with this one. I served it on a bed of Taste of Thai (boxed with sauce) noodles which added a lot of flavor. The Good: The taste was amazing! Very good and bold taste. The Not-so-Good: Outside of putting the pineapples on the chicken this recipe is just "Marinated Teriyaki Chicken with custom 'dipping' sauce". And I say "'dipping'" sauce because to me a dipping sauce is thick (like catchup or BBQ sauce) while this sauce is as thin as water. Granted teriyaki sauces might be this constancy but I was looking for something much thicker. Also this makes much more sauce than you will need. Over all I enjoyed using this recipe but I probably won't use it again, I will just use a teriyaki marinade with a box of noodles. That having been said: I fully recommend this recipe to someone who wants to try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very yummy. Don't forget the rice. It soaks up the juices nicely. I did add garlic with the chicken while cooking, I love garlic. I'm sure it'd be good without it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States