Hawaiian Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband gave this a 10! Delicious! Followed the review by STEVECHIN for the coconut cream cheese icing. Loved that this is something different from the norm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Yum! This cake was really good! I did have a problem getting it out of the pan, but I think if I let it cool more next time around, we should be good to go. We hosted a Hawaiian themed party, this was dessert and everyone raved about it! I made the Whipped Cream Cheese frosting on the site and served a dollop of it with each piece of cake, which seemed to work out well. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I had high hopes for this recipe, really I did. I was a little bit worried because of the lack of flour, but because of all the other positive reviews, I thought I would give it a try. It smelled heavenly in the oven, but about a half hour before it was supposed to be done, it smelled burnt. When I looked, smoke was pouring out of the oven! I pulled it out, and even though it still seemed too moist, I tried to turn it over onto a serving dish. What I ended up with was a huge... towering... blob. The outside looked like burnt jello, greasy glisten and all. I have to admit, I didn't want the cake to be a total waste of good ingredients, so I picked out a relatively safe looking portion from the inside. It tasted only average, nothing special. After it sat for a while the tast improved, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I tried this recipe just last night and it smelled really good (I haven't tasted it yet). The cake browned VERY quickly even though I turned the oven down to 340 or so--I wanted to make sure it would get baked through so I left it in as long as I could without totally burning it--it did get slightly burnt on the outside and this was after it was in for not even a full hour. I dusted it with powdered sugar to make it look better. It looks like it should taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as written but the cake stuck to the top and sides and was a complete disaster. The taste of the leftovers was lovely, but unfortunately I coudln't serve it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEVECHIN
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This cake is moist and delicious. I topped it with a homemade coconut cream cheese frosting, (1 8 oz pkg cream cheese, 1 stick butter, 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar and 2 tsp coconut extract.) Then I topped it with flaked coconut and refrigerated it for 2 hours to firm up the frosting. Everybody at my office party loved it and I recevied no less than 6 requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVECHIN
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
It was too sweet for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
It has a delisious smell plus, it tastes delisious. I topped it with a cream cheese topping. I came out awsosome. Very cool recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Fairly easy to make. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I had 12 oz of graham crackers I needed to use up so I scaled the recipe to three fourths and baked it in a 13x9 inch pan. It was done in 30 minutes. The cake didn't rise much, but it was moist, tender, and has a uniquely delicious taste from the graham crackers. It makes a great sheet cake and goes well with a whipped cream cheese or whipped cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States