Hawaiian Bruddah Potato Mac (Macaroni) Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Double the macaroni and used half the curry powder then this might be a descent dish. I am a macaroni salad expert, and i was not impressed with this recipe. The curry powder was so strong, and I like curry so it wasn't that....trust me use very little, or don't use it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
like you said bradda everybody get dere own potato/mac recipe but i wen check yours out stay true to da way us guys make-um aloha bradda frank
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poipndr

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very tasty! Only thing too much curry for me. I used about 2 to 3 teaspoons. Everyone like this salad it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Sooo yummy! It came out great! I didn't use the Sherry Vinegar but it still tasted authentic! For years we were trying to find out the ingredients that make this salad so unique and noe we've found it, made it about 4x so far and is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
great brah! Waipahu HK '72
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGGO1954

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Pretty yummy. People enjoyed the curry flavor. Took others' advice & modified but came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Yes, Correction, The curry was meant to be 1-1/2 teaspoon NOT in TBS...that was an error..Soli (Sorry)! It usually is more macaroni in most recipes but our family likes more potato than macaroni! Like was in the intro "to each his own potato mac salad!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuihalalalala
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful basic recipe. I used less potato and more macaroni, and less curry. I left out the peas, too because I didn't have any, but you can use whatever amounts or combination you like, and it will be good. I served this next to huli huli chicken, oven kalua pork (both from this recipe site)and plenty of steamed rice, and my guests were transported to Oahu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I have made this recipie several times now I really love it. The so called "potato salad experts" that give this a poor rating have obviously never had a plate lunch Hawaiian style on the Hawaiian islands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made this recipe last night for dinner tonight, with a few changes based on what I had in the kitchen and personal preferences. For starters I had no macaroni, so it was all potato. Nor did I have celery seed, so I had to use celery salt instead and omitted the salt to taste. Made the recipe otherwise as listed (including the curry correction) and it was just a little bland. So I added a little extra seasonings, and added garlic powder as well. Also, added some sweet pickles and juice. Tonight it was delicious!! My husband rarely likes potato salad and had two giant helpings- so you know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REf
Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States