Hawaiian Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe as is, but is flexible enough to allow you to include or exclude little bits and pieces you may not like or to adjust for family food allergies. For instance, if you don't like nuts, just add an equivalent amount of coconut. I found this recipe to make a lot more than one big loaf pan. I ended up using four 3x6 inch loaf pans and one 8x4 inch pan. You need to adjust cooking times for these sizes. I started checking at about 25 minutes for the small ones and kept resetting the timer 5 minutes at a time until a toothpick came out clean. Today I was forced by lack of ingredients to change it up a bit and this is what I did and liked it very much. I did not use nuts so I increased the coconut to a full cup. I had a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and used the whole thing. I used butter not margarine (always). And I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of coconut palm sugar. This type of sugar has a lower glycemic index and higher nutrients than white. It's a 1-to-1 conversion and next time I'll use it exclusively. It's a lovely brown color, but drier than standard brown sugar. The breads came out beautiful, rose well, and have a nice brown edge with a very moist center. If my family ate nuts, I'd have put some macadamias in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made for our Thanksgiving dinner everyone is begging for the recipe. I'm making mini loaves to give as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Kay Brown Gilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made this for my department at work and it disappeared quickly! Made the recipe without changing anything. Left out the coconut and walnuts because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Noble

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I did as one reviewer suggested,I used the 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple drained. I did flaked coconut with some canned coconut milk to make a cup TOTAL. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Aloha from Hawaii! this is more commonly called " Banana Bread" here in Hawai'i. 3 mashed overripe bananas makes the best, best bread ever! Will post a new recipe when I figure out the scants and pinches!! Mei Lani
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
,i thought that seemed like alot of flour 4c. and i didn't even use all 4 plus added a 1/4c. sourcream and sitched out half the white sugar with brown.it was moist but i wasn't that impressed,won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Out of sheer "curiosity" and because I happen to have 2 very ripe bananas, I figured this would be a good opportunity to make this. To begin with I noticed that the recipe calls for 4 cups of AP flour which sounded like a lot since the direction did say to lightly grease a 9x5 loaf pan and/or yields two 8x4 inch pans. Turns out I ended up with three 9x5 loaf pans. I used 1 (20 oz) can crushed pineapples thou the recipe calls for a 15 oz can. I don't think there are any cans in this quantity. This recipe was relatively easy and I followed the recipe to a "T". I used all butter instead of maragrine. The batter has a nice consistency, not too runny or too thick or lumpy. The baking time was approximate, 60 minutes, including the preheated time. I would rate the actual taste of the bread as a 5 stars but considering the recipes' lapse in ingredients and quantity amount called for I gave 4 stars. (4cups of flour for one 9x5 or two 8x4 pans?!) Good thing I happen to have a couple of extra loaf pans. All in all this turned out to be a very tasty, sweet, fruity, light and moist bread with a nice crunch factor from the walnuts. The flavors of pineapples, coconut and bananas were a great combination of flavors. The top of the bread has a nice golden brown color and is slightly crunchy which gives this a nice texture. The bread is simple to make and as delicious as submitter states! Wonderful to give as gifts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I make this at least once a month and take to work! Everyone loves it. But...it turns out much better if you use three loaf pans...not one like it says...one pan and it bakes out into the oven and the center never gets done! Three pans baked at 40--45 mins or so ...use the toothpick test. You will have much more even moistness in each loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States