Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This recipe didn't work for me! It was just too runny and hard to work with. Added more flour and became bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This bread was terrible. Refused to rise and tried several times to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made this recipe this morning, followed the directions exactly, The only change I made was to add 1 Tbsp of sugar to the yeast and added 1 tsp of salt. It turned out amazing, The only extra flour I added was to the bread board when I turned it out after the first rise, I only added enough to allow me to pick it up and put it into the bread pans, It made two wonderful light fluffy loaves, They rose high and are beautiful and taste fantastic!! I think if I were going to make rolls I would have to add more flour to shape them but it is a batter bread so the batter is sticky but it is suppose to be. YUM! will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Would make this again and again! Can not post a picture but let me tell you I can not believe how awesome it is! Thanks for the wonderful recipe! Family loved it and will take it to family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Love it, love it, love it. This has become my go to bread for everyday use, however, I have found something odd. I have had to add 3 cups of flour to the recipe to get a dough. If I use the 6 cups called for I get a batter so I added flour in 1/4 cup increments and it took 3 more cups to get the dough to the point where it came clean off the bowl, my indicator of a good dough. I ended up with three good sized, beautiful, tasty loaves with a perfect crumb. I have made it as a plain sandwich bread substituting milk for the pineapple juice and leaving out the ginger and vanilla, and I have made it substituting apple juice and adding cinnamon and raisins soaked in rum - OUTSTANDING!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this according to the recipe. The dough was wonderful to work with. I got 32 rolls and an 8x4 pan of bread. They raised beautifully. I'll be making these again next week to take ham/cheese sandwiches to a party. They will all be so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Not quite King's Hawaiian, in my opinion, bu the family really enjoyed this bread. 3 loaves didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
i hate when i try something and i can't get it to the level that everyone else finds it. as far as appereance and texture go, this turned out pefectly....but in the land of taste buds....BLEH! I cannot figure out what i'm doing wrong, but i have made this 3 times. the dough rises well. i have tried it with both active yeast and rapid yeast. but all 3 times i've made this it has a fermented flavor which is just not right tasting. all the ingredients are fresh, so i know it's not rotten juice, b/c i even drank a glass to make sure it was ok. it's almost like the yeast is fermenting the pinapple juice. i'm a pretty experienced baker so i've tried, adding the salt, increasing the sugar, adding flour, etc, etc to get it to an edible flavor. i've read a lot of reviews that say it tastes as good as store bought, and i can't get past the fermented flavor to agree. if anyone has suggestions i'm totally for it, i desperatly want this recipe to work. but after 3 attempts, i have to give it a 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Firstly, any bread maker knows you add the liquid to the flour. Everyone scoops flour differently (some spoon and others pack. Flour in bread is never an exact science). With that in mind I followed the recipe except I turned on the Kitchenaid with the flour and slowly added the liquid. Even then I had to add an extra half cup of flour and still had a good half cup or more of the liquid leftover. Adding even an extra couple of tablespoons of liquid can lead to an extra cup of flour. Those who said the recipe was very sticky (or if it doesn't rise, but spreads) try starting with the flour and slowly adding liquid. It's okay not to use all of it! :) It was the best homemade Hawaiian bread recipe I've ever made. I'm pregnant and finicky, though, and I was craving Kings. This is no substitute! My husband and son ate an entire loaf within minutes of it being out of the oven so iI'm sure we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
It was pretty good. Not as sweet as I was expecting but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States