Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this according to the recipe. The dough was wonderful to work with. I got 32 rolls and an 8x4 pan of bread. They raised beautifully. I'll be making these again next week to take ham/cheese sandwiches to a party. They will all be so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Not quite King's Hawaiian, in my opinion, bu the family really enjoyed this bread. 3 loaves didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
i hate when i try something and i can't get it to the level that everyone else finds it. as far as appereance and texture go, this turned out pefectly....but in the land of taste buds....BLEH! I cannot figure out what i'm doing wrong, but i have made this 3 times. the dough rises well. i have tried it with both active yeast and rapid yeast. but all 3 times i've made this it has a fermented flavor which is just not right tasting. all the ingredients are fresh, so i know it's not rotten juice, b/c i even drank a glass to make sure it was ok. it's almost like the yeast is fermenting the pinapple juice. i'm a pretty experienced baker so i've tried, adding the salt, increasing the sugar, adding flour, etc, etc to get it to an edible flavor. i've read a lot of reviews that say it tastes as good as store bought, and i can't get past the fermented flavor to agree. if anyone has suggestions i'm totally for it, i desperatly want this recipe to work. but after 3 attempts, i have to give it a 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Firstly, any bread maker knows you add the liquid to the flour. Everyone scoops flour differently (some spoon and others pack. Flour in bread is never an exact science). With that in mind I followed the recipe except I turned on the Kitchenaid with the flour and slowly added the liquid. Even then I had to add an extra half cup of flour and still had a good half cup or more of the liquid leftover. Adding even an extra couple of tablespoons of liquid can lead to an extra cup of flour. Those who said the recipe was very sticky (or if it doesn't rise, but spreads) try starting with the flour and slowly adding liquid. It's okay not to use all of it! :) It was the best homemade Hawaiian bread recipe I've ever made. I'm pregnant and finicky, though, and I was craving Kings. This is no substitute! My husband and son ate an entire loaf within minutes of it being out of the oven so iI'm sure we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
It was pretty good. Not as sweet as I was expecting but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Okay, I wanted to make something like Kings Hawaiian rolls. I made in the dough in my bread machine and made into rolls. They rose beautifully and a lot more in the oven, so you really don't have to wait til they double. These were gorgeous and the perfect texture for what I was looking for but still not as sweet as Kings. I'm going to make another batch tonight with 50% more sugar. I'll let ya know how these come out.... Oh, BTW, my rolls were cooked perfectly, 12 in a 9x13 pan after 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
The original recipe was problematic--as I added ingredients, I could see that the recipe called for way too much liquid. I also wanted to make a non-dairy version that kosher cooks could use with a meat meal. So, I made the following substitutions and changes: Eggs--only add 2. Butter--substitute 1/2 cup corn oil Flour--use 5 cups unbleached white flour and 1 cup unbleached white whole wheat flour. You will need to add between 1/2 cup to 1 cup more flour to make the dough manageable. Salt--add a pinch or two. Proofing-- let the dough rise for a longer time. After the first hour, punch the dough down and let double again--at least one more hour. To make the dough look like a challah, break off pieces of the dough and form into little balls approximately 1.5 inches in diameter. Fill two lightly greased 8"-9" cooking pans with the dough, leaving a bit of room between each ball so that the dough can rise for another hour. Then continue with the recipe as written. With the variations I made, I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Just tried making this bread. It turned out very dense and not so flavorable. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Awesome! I make this at least once a week and freeze any loaves we don't use; they get used pretty quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This came out good. I made this for freinds because they requested it. I have to tell you that I didn't have pineapple juice so I used pear and I think it worked just as well. Hawaiian bread is really not one of my favorites so I don't know if three stars is fair. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States