Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2001
Great tasting bread! Relatively easy to make, although kids can be impatient with waiting for the bread to proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This recipe has been revised. The yeast is mixed with 1/2 cup warm water in step 1 of the directions. A second 1/2 cup water is used to make the batter. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I love this bread. It's wonderful. I've made it several times already and I always get asked to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent! This is the flavor and the texture I've been looking for in a home made bread. It is very similiar to the Kings Hawaiian bread I've bought at the grocery. I didn't have any vanilla flavoring but it didn't matter. I followed the recipe as written. This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This bread is a huge hit. I made it for a Hawaiian themed party and now everyone asks me to make this for any occasion. It is simple to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
One of my family's favorites! A little work, but worth the trouble! Goes really great with roast pork or barbeque ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This bread was very tasty! I cut the recipe in half, so I used one egg and one egg white. I also used applesauce for half of the butter. Maybe it was due to my substitutions, but the bread was not able to be formed into loaves after proofing the first time. I had to pour it out of the bowl because it was more batter-like than doughy. Regardless, the bread rose nicely the second time and baked up wonderfully. I also did not have any ginger so I left it out - I think it would be good either way. I served this with Jamaican Jerk Pork Chops from this site and it made a wonderful tropical meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This is one of my new favorite bread recipes! I adapted it for my bread machine by cutting the recipe in half. I noticed that there was no salt in the recipe so I added 3/4 of a teaspoon just to be safe and the loaf came out perfect. I used 1 and 1/4 teaspoon of bread machine yeast, 1 egg and substituted coconut extract for the vanilla extract. I baked it on the regular crust sweet bread setting. It was so sweet and soft - almost more like cake than bread. It also made great toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Yum, this was very good. We ate it fresh from the oven! I cant wait to try it toasted for breakfast. I did make it in my bread machine I have a 2lb breadmaker and thought I could get away with 2/3 of the recipe. It rose too high and didnt quite bake all the way on top, so I put it in the oven a few minutes more and it was fine. Will make again! But only half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I had a Hawaiian luau for a bridal shower. This bread was a hit. It is not hard to make either. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States