Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This is one of my new favorite bread recipes! I adapted it for my bread machine by cutting the recipe in half. I noticed that there was no salt in the recipe so I added 3/4 of a teaspoon just to be safe and the loaf came out perfect. I used 1 and 1/4 teaspoon of bread machine yeast, 1 egg and substituted coconut extract for the vanilla extract. I baked it on the regular crust sweet bread setting. It was so sweet and soft - almost more like cake than bread. It also made great toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This recipe has been revised. The yeast is mixed with 1/2 cup warm water in step 1 of the directions. A second 1/2 cup water is used to make the batter. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I wanted a Hawaiian-style bread like the pull-apart you find in the store. I wanted to make the dough in my bread machine. I took the suggestions of Jennifer 72--cut the recipe in half, added the salt, changed the vanilla extract to coconut extract. I addedd 2TBSP water to adjust for the 1/2 egg I didn't use. I had to keep adding flour to the recipe to make a dough that I could handle because this is more of a batter bread. When the dough was right and the cycle was finished, I patted the dough out flat. I cut the dough into 18 or 20 small pieces. I rolled those pieces into small balls and placed them in a greased angel food pan. I let that rise till doubled in size, about 1 1/2 hours. I baked it at 350degrees for about 35 minutes--till brown on top. I forgot to add some egg wash on top, could do that next time. Also, I might cover the bread or turn it down. The sweetness of the dough caused the brown top to get crispy instead of chewy. After baking, I let it sit in the pan on a cooling rack for five minutes. Then I turned the bread upside down to remove it. The guests at my Hawaiian-themed dinner party loved it, it made a great pull-apart bread. If anyone tries it this way, I hope you measure how much extra flour you add. It might have been as much as 3/4cup+. I just kept adding flour. Also, I would omit the substitution for the 1/2 egg, just forget about adding extra water. Really glad that it came out so well. Enjoy, and hope my comments help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meiling206
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This recipe turned out awesome! I cut the recipe in half and added honey to the warm water/yeast mixture to help activate the yeast. I also turned them into dinner rolls and gave them a light egg wash prior to baking. Made these on Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I'll definitely be making these again, a perfect bread to make hum bows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Only downfall...NEEDS SALT. Bread was wonderful. I made a french loaf out of it to eat with Grilled Pineapple Chicken sandwiches and it was great. This one goes into my cookbook but with SALT added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
Great bread, but add a little more salt than the recipe calls for. Serve this with toasted cocoanut butter....mmmm, mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Delaware, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
We decided to make rolls because we were wanting a bread for Thanksgiving dinner. This was so close to the store bought we could almost eat them all in one day! Added 1 teaspoon salt to ingredients, about a teaspoon or two of honey to yeast to help activate it and added an egg wash to tops. Recipe made about 15 huge rolls that look just like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This turned out differently than expected. The dough was runny, sticky, and hard to work with. It also didn't rise as much as I would like, and wasn't sweet enough, even with all the sugar. It was good hot out of the oven with butter, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Yum, this was very good. We ate it fresh from the oven! I cant wait to try it toasted for breakfast. I did make it in my bread machine I have a 2lb breadmaker and thought I could get away with 2/3 of the recipe. It rose too high and didnt quite bake all the way on top, so I put it in the oven a few minutes more and it was fine. Will make again! But only half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This bread is a huge hit. I made it for a Hawaiian themed party and now everyone asks me to make this for any occasion. It is simple to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States