Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2001
Great tasting bread! Relatively easy to make, although kids can be impatient with waiting for the bread to proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
Great bread, but add a little more salt than the recipe calls for. Serve this with toasted cocoanut butter....mmmm, mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Delaware, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This recipe has been revised. The yeast is mixed with 1/2 cup warm water in step 1 of the directions. A second 1/2 cup water is used to make the batter. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This is one of my new favorite bread recipes! I adapted it for my bread machine by cutting the recipe in half. I noticed that there was no salt in the recipe so I added 3/4 of a teaspoon just to be safe and the loaf came out perfect. I used 1 and 1/4 teaspoon of bread machine yeast, 1 egg and substituted coconut extract for the vanilla extract. I baked it on the regular crust sweet bread setting. It was so sweet and soft - almost more like cake than bread. It also made great toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
The consistency of this bread was wonderful. I made it for a buffet breakfast for 50 people and it was gone it minutes! I recommend substituting coconut extract and to make the loaves the size of 2 fists...they bake much quicker this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Yum, this was very good. We ate it fresh from the oven! I cant wait to try it toasted for breakfast. I did make it in my bread machine I have a 2lb breadmaker and thought I could get away with 2/3 of the recipe. It rose too high and didnt quite bake all the way on top, so I put it in the oven a few minutes more and it was fine. Will make again! But only half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This bread was very tasty! I cut the recipe in half, so I used one egg and one egg white. I also used applesauce for half of the butter. Maybe it was due to my substitutions, but the bread was not able to be formed into loaves after proofing the first time. I had to pour it out of the bowl because it was more batter-like than doughy. Regardless, the bread rose nicely the second time and baked up wonderfully. I also did not have any ginger so I left it out - I think it would be good either way. I served this with Jamaican Jerk Pork Chops from this site and it made a wonderful tropical meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This turned out differently than expected. The dough was runny, sticky, and hard to work with. It also didn't rise as much as I would like, and wasn't sweet enough, even with all the sugar. It was good hot out of the oven with butter, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I love this bread. It's wonderful. I've made it several times already and I always get asked to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I had a Hawaiian luau for a bridal shower. This bread was a hit. It is not hard to make either. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States