Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Not sure if this has already been stated. The only thing i did different was proof the yeast with about a tbs of sugar so that it was super creamy and foamy. That made a HUGE difference the second time. I also did NOT bake them in cake pans, as they are more condensed and seemed to have to cook longer and were a bit dry. I layed them out on a cookie sheet. Not only were they sweet and delicious but even FLUFFIER this way. So. Friggin. Good.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KokinaGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
We decided to make rolls because we were wanting a bread for Thanksgiving dinner. This was so close to the store bought we could almost eat them all in one day! Added 1 teaspoon salt to ingredients, about a teaspoon or two of honey to yeast to help activate it and added an egg wash to tops. Recipe made about 15 huge rolls that look just like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and it's a big hit every time. The first time I didn't change a thing, then I tried some of the variations other mentioned. I also used coconut milk instead of water for the 2nd 1/2 cup water and added a 1/2 tsp of coconut extract along with the vanilla. I did find (as another reviewer mentioned) that 6 cups flour was not nearly enough. I end up making 4 loaves which I form into a ball and put each into prepared round cake pans. My neighbors are always happy to help with any extra loaves. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinbuzb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Easy to make, for a yeast bread. Most of the time is waiting for it to rise. I did find after the first rise the dough was sticky and I had to add more flour and knead a bit to get it to form into desired shapes. I made one loaf in a round pan and the other two in smaller bread pans. I think the flavor is fantastic, don't see the need to add salt to the the dough as other reviews recommended. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
AMAZING! I make the dough in my breadmaker and the family loves the flavor. I did exchange vanilla with coconut extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Super delicious - makes THE BEST toast the morning after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good. Sweet with great flavor. I used about 7 1/2 c. of flour and it was still very sticky. The first rise was very quick and went over the top of the bowl I had it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Everyone in our household loved this bread. Including our 4 year old grandson! Great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This bread is FABULOUS ! ! I made it for an anniversary dinner Saturday April 16, 2011. One of the guests has dairy allergies, so I substituted butter flavored Crisco for butter and it took off from there. My guest was a little put out because everyone wanted the Hawaiian bread that was just for her( there were other rolls). So thank you, thank you, thank you Saundra for a delicious dairy free bread. A grateful Lucretia Jones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I think this would have been delicious. However, I followed the recipe exactly and the dough did not rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States