Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My kids loved this bread. It's the second bread I have ever made & was very simple. Will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This bread was great! I was hoping for a copycat of King's Hawaiian bread, and this was pretty close. I made it in my bread machine on the sweet bread setting, 2 lb, light crust. Next time I'll do rolls. I HALVED the recipe to fit in the machine (I also omitted the first water because I put the yeast in last, and I used 2 eggs to make up for the less liquid). After it was done mixing, I thought the dough looked very wet and small, but I left it alone. When it was done, the loaf had risen to the top! I will definately be making it again. We love the King's bread, but I don't love buying 12 tiny rolls for $5. Now I don't have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mistandfog
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I like to make a recipe exactly as it is written the first time, but I didn't have any pineapple juice this morning, and I didn't want to waste gas running to the store for one item. So, I used the juice I had on hand--Trader Joe's spicy pear cider. My eggs also looked a little small, so I used three whole eggs plus an additional yolk (I chose the yolk over the white because other Hawaiian bread recipes were heavy on yolk). When I divided the bread into three sections, I put two into round cake pans, as directed. Then, I took the third section and divided it into a dozen rolls. I baked the rolls for 15 minutes and baked the bread for 25. They both came out amazing! The dough was very sticky when I let it rise the first time, but I just went with it instead of adding any flour because that has worked for me in other recipes. The final texture in the rolls and the bread was light and airy and soooooo delicious. This was at least as good as the Hawaiian bread I can find in the grocery aisle simple because it's so fresh and delicious and so cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Love this recipe. I also cut the recipe in half and made it with two cups of wheat flour and one cup of all-purpose flour. This bread is so yummy and tastes so much better homemade than store bought (no surprise)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this as I would a yeast bread, not a batter bread - so I added enough flour to make a knead-able dough and let it knead in the mixer for several minutes. I skipped the ginger because it just sounded a little off to me, and we didn't miss it at all. I made these into buns and they rose HUGE and made almost mini round loaves rather than buns! These had very subtle pineapple flavor and were wonderful with our chicken teriyaki and grilled pineapple sandwiches! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Not sure if this has already been stated. The only thing i did different was proof the yeast with about a tbs of sugar so that it was super creamy and foamy. That made a HUGE difference the second time. I also did NOT bake them in cake pans, as they are more condensed and seemed to have to cook longer and were a bit dry. I layed them out on a cookie sheet. Not only were they sweet and delicious but even FLUFFIER this way. So. Friggin. Good.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KokinaGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
We decided to make rolls because we were wanting a bread for Thanksgiving dinner. This was so close to the store bought we could almost eat them all in one day! Added 1 teaspoon salt to ingredients, about a teaspoon or two of honey to yeast to help activate it and added an egg wash to tops. Recipe made about 15 huge rolls that look just like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and it's a big hit every time. The first time I didn't change a thing, then I tried some of the variations other mentioned. I also used coconut milk instead of water for the 2nd 1/2 cup water and added a 1/2 tsp of coconut extract along with the vanilla. I did find (as another reviewer mentioned) that 6 cups flour was not nearly enough. I end up making 4 loaves which I form into a ball and put each into prepared round cake pans. My neighbors are always happy to help with any extra loaves. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinbuzb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Easy to make, for a yeast bread. Most of the time is waiting for it to rise. I did find after the first rise the dough was sticky and I had to add more flour and knead a bit to get it to form into desired shapes. I made one loaf in a round pan and the other two in smaller bread pans. I think the flavor is fantastic, don't see the need to add salt to the the dough as other reviews recommended. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
AMAZING! I make the dough in my breadmaker and the family loves the flavor. I did exchange vanilla with coconut extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States