Hawaiian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Just tried making this bread. It turned out very dense and not so flavorable. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Awesome! I make this at least once a week and freeze any loaves we don't use; they get used pretty quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This came out good. I made this for freinds because they requested it. I have to tell you that I didn't have pineapple juice so I used pear and I think it worked just as well. Hawaiian bread is really not one of my favorites so I don't know if three stars is fair. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Yummy! They didn't rise as nice as I would have liked, but they were still yummy just not as pretty as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naturegirl67
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My fourteen year old son made this as a final project for his cooking class. Loaves turned out really well. It wasn't quite as sweet at King's but very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I am really confused.. I love making bread though I am new to it.. This is the FIRST time I have made this and the bread dough was REALLY sticky!!! I made due but I just DO NOT know how these are going to turn out.. Most of the time the reviews tell you its suppose to be sticky just do this, however this one does not.. I would love to know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Poquoson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
GREAT bread. Does not keep much past the first day... eat it up! We had it for sandwiches... spicy mayo garlic dressing with roast beef. Am-AZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I was so excited to try this, I Love Kings Hawaiian Bread, I'm giving it a 4, sorry it doesnt come close to Kings brand, However, it tastes great for a bread recipe, I made rolls, rd.cake pan and a small loaf. I did however add more flour, 6 cups was way to sticky. I baked the rolls for 15 mins and the loaf and cake pan 25 mins. Like I said great taste, but not what I was hoping for.. I may look at different Hawaiian bread recipes and try those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Of all the Hawaiian clone recipes, this is the best. It absolutely reproduces the classic bread. But it does so much more. You will get 4 pounds of dough and for me, I divide it into 4-1 pound dough balls. Each to be used for different breads-pecan rolls, dinner rolls, loaf bread, crescent rolls and so on. I think this dough is the most versatile I have ever come across in 50 years of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have made this bread several times. I usually make a scaled down version so that it fits into my ABM. I wanted a taste that would be similar to a sweet bread recipe I have from Finland. I make the following changes, I add 1/2tsp salt and instead of ginger I use 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of cardamom. That change in spice while still using vanilla makes such a difference. I still use the pineapple juice. Though my original Finnish bread does not. I just let the machine do the work using the sweet dough setting, then I remove the dough, punch it down and divide it into three parts, I roll each part into a long rope and then braid them together. I then place the braided bread into a longer loaf pan, let rise again, brush with egg white/water mixture and bake for 25 min. My family loves this bread. For an extra sweetness you can brush it again after baking with a water/sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States