Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
My family enjoyed the flavor and moistness of this bread. I did add more yeast and used additional flour. I also baked in oven instead of machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
not very pineapple-y, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVER00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I made this on a whim for Thanksgiving dinner with my family, just for a change of pace. I followed the substitutions of vanilla for coconut extract, and the flour/milk for the potato flakes (which is coincidentally the comment posted in the cookbook, which I have, but didn't use this time). It was a surprise hit with everyone! I used the bread machine through the dough stage, then put it in a loaf pan in the oven at 350 until it was lightly browned. I'd like to try it with the potato flakes - my dough was really sticky and goopy, I worked a bunch of extra flour into it. I think the potato would take care of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
turned out good, daughter loved it, but I will leave out coconut flavoring, to strong and I only used half teaspoon and half vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vardaman, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
YUMMY!!! This was the first time I have used my bread maker even though I have had it for 6 months and this bread was the perfect initiation! I did put it on sweet/medium, but I think it would have been fine on light. The key, I think, was to let it rest for 15 minutes after. My whole family loved it and we will be making it again soon. It's great for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This bread is excellent. It did not bake all the way through on the light setting so next time I will choose medium or dark. I took the bread pan out and put it in my oven for 10 - 15 extra minutes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This came out awful. The bread was not cooked all the way. It was very raw/doughy. I think it would have been better cooked on medium instead of light. Also, this recipe tastes more like a cake than bread. I wouldn't recommend this one. I wouldn't make it again. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This is very very tasty just on its own. I was actually a little disappointed after trying it when it first came out from the breadmaker, as I was expecting something more after all the rave reviews. The next day though, it tasted so much better! The blend of flavors is excellent, and the texture is so soft, not dry at all, even after the second day. While it was rising, I thought it would turn out to be a dense loaf as it didn't rise as much as I thought it would (some reviewers wrote that it overflowed their 1.5lb breadmaker). It rose very well during baking though, just the right size for my 1.5lb breadbaker, and had a fabulous soft golden brown top crust. I didn't have coconut extract either, and used vanilla. Would definitely like to try it next time with coconut and see how perfectly that turns out. So far, I prefer this bread untoasted (I found toasting detracts from the flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
The family loved this bread! For a kick, we added some extra shredded coconut in the mix. Tastes the best when sliced, toasted, and eaten with a little bitta butta on top! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTTYKAT16

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States