Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made it in bread machine. Was good enough I've made it three times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
i was so excited to make this bread especially after reading all of the fabulous reviews. with no bread cooker on hand i proofed my yeast, combined my fruits and other wet ingredients (vanilla for coconut extract) and then stirred in the yeast, milk mixture. after sifting my flour and salt together i added it to the rest of the ingredients. My dough was terribly dry I added an additional 1/4 c pineapple to get to right consistency. I let the dough rise overnight. Cut into two halves and formed into bread boules. Let rise an additional 30 minutes. Baked 35 minutes at 350. I had to cover the bread with foil after 15 minutes it had already browned. My crust was way too hard after the amount of time I had to bake in order to cook all the way through and the flavor was less than stellar. The banana and potato came through too much for my liking. I may possibly play with the recipe and use only pineapple. Also cut into more loaves so shorting bake time is required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is amazing! I dont understand the reviews that said it didnt work - it comes out fabulous each time for me. Everytime I bring bread to a function, its this one that is requested. Its best if you let your bananas get a little mushy - i put them in the microwave if they are still ripe to soften them up a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
So good I kept eating and eating it the entire week. My daughter liked it most with turkey and cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I did mine in the oven with a few modifications. OVEN MODIFICATION: I doubled the recipe: In a mixer, I combined 1 banana, 1/2 c. pineapple, and coconut milk until it made 2 cups of the blended mix. I added the ingredients one by one in a separate bowl whisking slowly(doubling the ingredients) until everything but the yeast and flour was combined. I proofed the yeast with a couple of tbsp of water and added to the wet mix. After mixing that in, I added flour slowly stirring... then kneading after 4 cups. I got up to 5 1/2 cups flour for the double recipe. At that point, I put the dough into a lightly greased bowl and put in the oven on about 100 degrees to rise. I waited for about 1.5 hr, then formed the dough into 3 loaves and put into the 100 degree oven again to rise for another 1.5 hr. After that, I removed the 3 bread pans from the oven, preheated to 350, and baked for about 40 minutes. VERY VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! And so do my kids. Made it twice in 2 days and it was completely gone. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was ok. My husband liked it more than I did. I thought it was lackluster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was good, but like the hawiian bread from the store. After reading the reviews, I decided to bake it in the oven instead of the breadmaker. It came out good, but rather dense. My family was not real keen on the coconut extract, but that is a matter of personal taste. I will try this again and leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is so yummy! The smell is wonderful as it bakes, too! I didn't have any coconut extract, so I used vanilla as others have done. My husband and son thanked me as they don't like coconut flavor. I imagine it can only be better with the coconut! I used the sweet bread setting on my machine with a light crust, but the crust was *very* dark, especially on the sides. My husband liked it that way, but my son and I didn't care for it. The inside of the bread was still very, very moist. I think next time I'll take the loaf out of the machine earlier, or I'll bake it in the oven. It could have also been that since we were not home, it sat on the 60 min "warm" cycle and actually kept cooking. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I can't have King's Hawaiian bread due to the additives in it, and this is an even *better* alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very moist and very good tasting. I was skeptical with all the ingredients but I gave it a go. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States