Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is what I have been lookng for! great recipe, you can tweek it many different ways. I used rum extract in stead of coconut. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is great, the flavor was wondrefull, I don't have a bread machine and baked it the old fasion way via the over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Personally, I didn't like this at all. I thought I did something wrong, but my roommates both loved it! Turns out I don't like banana in bread, but they do. So if you love banana, you'll probably like this. Meanwhile, I'm going to look for a hawaiian bread that doesn't have banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Just like King's Hawaiian bread! On my first try of the ingredients, it worked out! The second time I did it, the can of pinapples weren't as fresh just two days laters and made a negative impact. Since I didn't not have potato flakes, I used mash potatos. ** NOTE ** I had to add 1/3 cup extra flour since mashed potatos carry more water than flakes. My kids love this special treat! So do I :) Over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by askbigmel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
doesn't get much better than this.. rave reviews! one said it tasted WAY better than store bought popular Hawaiian bread (which was my personal favorite - before this recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aegibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Just came back from Hawaiian, made bread and spam! I had bad like at first, my bread was imploding in the center when baking. So I uped the yeast up to 2 1/4 teasoons. Then when adding the ingredients to the bread machine, I mixed the pineapple and bannana into a "paste" and set aside.(I used fresh cut from whole pineapple) I poured 1/2 cup of "paste" in at first, and added the next half a little at a time throughout the mixing. Seems to not overwhelm the yeast at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Wonderful, flavorful, and delicious. I would make this over and over. I used my bread machine to mix the dough, putting in the wet ingredients first and then the dry, with the yeast and sugar on top. Watch it though - the last rising would have overflowed, so I recommend taking it out for the last rise and putting it on a pan to bake in the oven. Split the dough in half and make two round loaves - one loaf is massive, and hard to cook thoroughly. I only made one loaf and it was slightly underbaked, despite the crust being golden brown. I subbed vanilla for the coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This bread is outstanding. I beat the egg before I added it, and I smashed the butter before I put it in with the wet ingredients. The mixture was too dry at first, so I added a little bit more milk, a tbl. at a time, until the consistency was right (be careful, though, because it came together before I noticed and I had to add a bit more flour to compensate!). I cooked it on the "basic" bread cycle with a "light" crust. My friends who were over for a Hawaiian-themed dinner found it excellent with the pulled smoked pork we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
WOW!! I love this bread! It has wonderful flavor, more like a dessert bread. I call it 'Pina Colada Bread.' :) I make it exactly as the recipe states. It turns out very soft, an excellent loaf. I make bread every day, and I think this is by far my favorite. (My favorite dinner bread is the Steakhouse Bread recipe on this site.) My only suggestion, depending on your bread maker, make sure you set to 1 1/2 lb. loaf and if you have a sweet bread setting use it with a light crust. I really don't understand any of the more negative reviews. This bread is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Not much like King's Hawaiian, what I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States