Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I made fabulous sticky buns out of this dough. Put in bread machine on dough cycle. Roll out into a rectangle, spread with filling: 1/2c soft butter, 1/4c flour, 3/4c brown sugar, 1T cinnamon mixed together. Roll-up and cut into 1" slices. Spray 2 pans (9x13 each) with Pam. Spread caramel topping in pans: 1c melted butter, 1+1/2c brown sugar, 1/2c corn syrup. Sprinkle chopped macadamia nuts and coconut over topping. Put rolls in pans, cover and let rise until double (30 - 40 min). Bake at 350 for 30 to 35 min. Let cool in pans 5 min, turn over onto a platter or cookie sheet covered with parchment and let caramel run over rolls before removing the pan. Seriously decadent...people are begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I guess this recipe was ok. My husband said something must be wrong with me because this bread is more than "ok" it is the bomb! He was upset because I didn't include a slice with his meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Just bought a new bread machine recently, and this recipe turned out excellent! The bread was a wonderful texture, and tasted delicious. It also came out perfectly formed in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
The flavor was decent, and I'm only rating it this low because I am going to try it again and because I changed the rules a little. I opted to make loaves and bake this bread in a conventional oven. The bread was heavy and doughy, although I did like the flavor. I plan on playing around with it again to see if I can adapt this for the oven instead of bread machine. I made two 9x4 loaves, and let them rise for an hour in pan after the dough had proofed for a hour prior. I may have to increase yeast or delete some of the liquid. But, I can see that if you are going to make this in a bread machine, make sure it's a large one 2lbs at least and you may want to halve the coconut extract...a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
**Make sure you have a 2 lb. bread machine. Mine was overflowing and the bread turned out raw. After putting the bread in the oven, the taste was very good. I used it with spinach dip. I'm sure it would've been better if I didn't have to stop the cooking. I will try it again either smaller or bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
took the hints/tips that were suggested, increase the milk to 1/2 cup, used vanilla extract, used 1 1/2 small bananas and baked at the sweet cycle (takes about 3.5 hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Great tasting bread, Teresa. Some of the reviewers suggested that it tasted like Kings Hawaiian Bread. Never having tasted that, I can only imagine....but I will tell you it was wonderful with full flavor and very good texture. I let my bread machine go thru the dough cycle, then I took the dough out and formed the loaf, baking it in a 9x5 loaf pan at 375 degrees for 33 minutes. PERFECT. It makes aromatic toast, too. Yummy. My hubby didn't enjoy it as much as I, he said it tasted too much like banana, well DUH! Maybe I'll cut the bananas to 1/4 cup for his sake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
WOW - what a great bread. I had to scale it to fit my machine, and it came out wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Excellent! So easy and moist. This was the first recipe i made in my new bread machine i got for christmas. I had no coconut extract so i just used vanilla, and i didnt have any potoato flakes so i just used 1/3 more cup of flour and 1/4 cup more milk and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
My 10 year old daughter and her friends love this bread with coconut flavor. But my husband is not so crazy about coconut flavor so I made it with vanilla extract instead of coconut and he loved it! I make the dough in my bread machine and take it out and bake it in the oven for about 35-40 minutes. It comes out nicer and slice better. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States