Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
EVERYONE loved this!! From my picky husband and 4 year old son, to all my guests on Easter day. Have made it twice in the last week! Using advice from another reviewer, I didn't change a thing the first time and it was perfect. The second time, I tried it without the coconut. It is much better with the coconut IMHO! Also, 2 cups of bananas is 4 average-size bananas. This should help so you're not having to measure your bananas after they're mashed. I usually have a hard time not making my own little changes to a recipe...which is why I tried to change it the second time. Don't change a thing! This recipe is going to be my Christmas neighbor-gifts for next year! Very colorful and easy to make. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! P.S. Added on 8/24/07, I have now made this recipe MANY times and here are a few more helpful tips (hopefully). First, this recipe will fill three of the aluminum loaf pans that you can purchase for gift giving. Also, the last time I made this I added ALOT of pineapple. That is a big mistake! It makes the bread too gooey, so if you experiment, this is not the ingredient to increase. And one last thing. At least when I bake this, it takes around 55 minutes to be done, at least. My oven is right on, temperature wise, too. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
OMG, OMG, OMG! This is SO good! I've eaten almost a whole loaf myself! Gave hubby one piece, gave Daughter #1 a BITE, and I've eaten 2/3 of the first loaf all by my loansome! So glad the recipe makes 2 loaves. I didn't have any cherries so those were left out, and I did a cup of crushed-up macadamias in lieu of the nuts listed. Only had enough ugly bananas for 1-1/2 cups, and did the 1/2-and-1/2 on the white and brown sugar combo suggested by previous cooks. Baked in 2 glass loaf pans for about 50 minutes. When I checked on them they passed the toothpick test so I pulled them out. Upon slicing while still hot the middle was still kinda gooey and the top sank shortly after coming out of the oven. I don't care! It's too good. Next time will add more coconut and pineapple. Oh, the only pineapple I had was the dehydrated stuff from Sam's so I chopped up that until it filled 1 cup. Will do maybe 1-1/2 cups of pineapple next time. I'm not making regular banana bread anymore, this is too dang good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I made this twice, the first time I put in,oops, 16 oz. of pineapple and needed to bake it for an extra 10 minutes. The second time I followed the recipe. Both turned out great tasting and moist. I stored it in the fridge, I think it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!!! I have been looking for a good recipe for this EXACT kind of bread! I didn't have any cherries, so those obviously got left out. Next time I'll be prepared. I made this in 5 mini loaf pans instead, and decreased the time to 55-60 min. Just be sure to check the center as usual. I also made a oatmeal, sugar, cinnamon struesel for the top, and it turned out sooooo yummmmmmmy!!! Thanks again for this wonderful recipe that I will be using MANY times to come. I'll be sure to share it with my Mommy/Toddler Playgroup too! PS. 2 Cups bananas = 4 reg. size bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Special K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I truly hope more people will try this absolutely Wun-der-ful banana bread! I made 6 mini loaves to give as 'gifts'. The only change I made was that I toasted my walnuts first and then I put my coconut in my chopper to make it finer. I too think you could probably cut back 1/3 or even 1/2 a cup on the sugar and it would still be great. My husband really did enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Surprisingly good. Didn't think the coconut and banana would be good together. I omitted the cherries and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
What can I say about this bread! It is absolutely fabulous! Very moist with excellent flavor. I made muffins out of it, but I think it would make an excellent frosted cake as well. The cherries add a festive touch. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Absolutely great recipe. The only thing we changed was, we used pecans instead of walnuts; it's a Southern thing, you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul-Louisiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
This bread is incredible, everyone in my family enjoyed it. Everyone was asking me for the recipe. It was so soft and moist...This is a keeper for sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Yummie! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rosburg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Armstrong, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States