Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Love this bread, best bread I have ever had. I use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I leave out the coconut, but a lot of review said the coconut made the cake. Make sure to use specified amount of pineapple, if you use more the bread will be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sblount63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pevely, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
super sweet with all the fruit, cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I've made this banana bread many times. Sometimes I leave out the coconut or pineapple, or substitute raisins for the cherries, and it still comes out good. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was so good ! I didn't use the coconut or nuts because I don't care for either one but I added chocolate chips was amazing and so moist ! and I also used 6 small loaf pans and cooked it for only about 45 minutes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I think it's good, but the consistency of the bread isn't the best I've made. My hubby on the other hand says this is his favorite banana bread, probably because he prefers the coconut in this over the chocolate chips in the banana split bread I like to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Excellent bread!!! So yummy!!! I have been wanting to try a banana bread with pineapple and coconut ever since I was in Hawaii. It is sold on the islands. I found this one and was very happy. I made a few minor changes: Pecans instead of walnuts, and used half brown sugar. Skipped the cherries as I am not fond of maraschino cherries. I thought this bread was heavenly. Next time I will use half applesauce for the oil to cut down on fat, and probably use some whole wheat flour in the mix. I don't think it will affect the overall flavor of this loaf of bread. If you like the ingredients in this recipe, I am quite sure you will be happy with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really good bread! I like this bread because it's so different from normal banana bread =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made a few changes to this recipe, mainly because I wanted to use brown sugar instead of white sugar and wanted to not have to use eggs. Here are the following substitutions: instead of walnuts used pecans instead of eggs used (1) 13.5 oz coconut milk instead of white sugar used brown sugar instead of pineapple (didn't have ;) used (1) 11 oz can of mandarin oranges instead of maraschino cherries (again, didn't have) used dried dates instead of vanilla extract used (1) vanilla bean Thanks SAUNDRA for the beginnings of a non-traditional banana bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Thanks for this recipe,I love it,so moist even after I froze one because I used the tin loaf pans and ended up with 3 loaves,it freezes very well and taste the same after sitting out to thaw.I will make this again,can't get enough when you want that little touch of sweet without being too sweet.Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States