Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made a few changes to this recipe, mainly because I wanted to use brown sugar instead of white sugar and wanted to not have to use eggs. Here are the following substitutions: instead of walnuts used pecans instead of eggs used (1) 13.5 oz coconut milk instead of white sugar used brown sugar instead of pineapple (didn't have ;) used (1) 11 oz can of mandarin oranges instead of maraschino cherries (again, didn't have) used dried dates instead of vanilla extract used (1) vanilla bean Thanks SAUNDRA for the beginnings of a non-traditional banana bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Thanks for this recipe,I love it,so moist even after I froze one because I used the tin loaf pans and ended up with 3 loaves,it freezes very well and taste the same after sitting out to thaw.I will make this again,can't get enough when you want that little touch of sweet without being too sweet.Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I do not add coconut or merichino cherries (mainly because I don't keep these on hand) but otherwise I make this as is. This recipe will make 2 loaves or 24 muffins. I like to make 12 muffins for myself and give 1 loaf away. This is awesome banana bread! I have made it several times and plan on making it for as long as I can bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Yummie! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cozmic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Armstrong, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
OK--I really changed the recipe--but thought others might be interested. I replaced the oil with 1 cup of applesauce. I cut the sugar to one cup. I replaced the cherries with 2 cups of dried mixed berries. Made sure the pineapple was REALLY drained, and added a little more. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've made banana bread for over 30 years and lately I've gotten tired of the taste. I spotted this recipe and gave it a try. I didn't have any vanilla so I substituted almond extract. I also added a little extra pineapple and used less cherries. This is absolutely delicious and moist!!!!! I'm giving this as my holiday food gift to family and friends, along with the list of ingredients. This will replace my long time recipe for banana bread. Small loaves only took 30 min. to bake. Won't last long enough to make it into the freezer. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Absolutely great recipe. The only thing we changed was, we used pecans instead of walnuts; it's a Southern thing, you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul-Louisiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My husband I really enjoyed this moist banana bread receipe, but I did omit the coconut, decreased the oil by 2/3 and increased the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnk.kiefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States