Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
We have not tasted it yet. I just took two of them out of the oven & my house smells incredible. I'm made banana nut bread since I was 8-12 & I'm going to be 65 this year. But I just got tired of it. I make it for friends, particularly during the holidays, but this would be a real nice kicked up version. Can't wait for it to cool enough so we can taste it. I'm going to give it a 4 until we taste it, but I tasted the batter & it was good enough to eat with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I omitted the walnuts, pineapple, and cherries, and added chocolate chips to make a very easy, rich chocolate-coconut banana bread. Compared to my grandmas (wonderful) banana bread recipe, this uses more bananas (I used 4 overripe ones) and is quicker since you just mix it up (no creaming butter or beating eggwhites). My husband isn't a fan of normal banana bread but loved this, so I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
i added my own touches but the basic recipe was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
First time I made this, I didn't have the cherries, or nuts and the family raved about it. Complete hit! Second time I put cherries in one loaf only and while it was good, I didn't think it was worth the extra cost for us. As other posters did, I also used a larger can of pineapple, and even though it had to bake a while longer, it was still incredible!! Just recently, I made the whole recipe in a bundt pan and it turned out really well. Great way to "portion control" this yummy family fav. Now to see if it freezes well (if in fact it lasts long enough to make it to the freezer!). This goes in the keeper pile for sure... probably the only banana bread I'll make from now on! Many thanks Saundra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARKONA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I took this bread as a snack for a church meeting last week. It was a big hit and was quickly scarfed down followed by requests for the recipe. Honestly, it's a five-star hit!! One thing though, I didn't use the maraschino cherries. I can't imagine that they would have made it any better. So moist and flavorful! Thanks, Saundra, for posting what will likely be my go-to recipe for banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I was a little skeptical about the cherries but it was wonderful. I did a little different take and made muffins, finely chopped up the cherries in a chopper and filled the muffins with the cherries. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. My husband said it was the best banana bread he had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is FANTASTIC !! BEST Banana bread I have ever had, took it to a pot luck and everyone raved !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this and my family LOVED it !!! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
EVERYONE in the whole family LOVED this banana bread recipe......but the 4H judge told my nephew today (we had helped him mix and bake) it was too moist and too sweet and too dark??? REALLY??? Just know that we all love the banana bread and will continue to make it often!! just one person's opinion for that day right? We ended up with 6 small loaves of the tastiest banana bread we've ever had! YUMMY! Try it, you will be glad you did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States