Hawaiian Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was really moist, and my son really liked, but just ok for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
These are sooooo good. The only thing I had to change was the baking time (about 25 min). These are so great right out of the oven. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is an easy and tasty way to use up bananas. I did not have confectioner's sugar, so I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Perhaps I did something wrong...mine were moist - but they turned out like a cake (not like chewy bars). I did substitute macadamia nuts for the walnuts. It tasted fine, but was more like a moist banana flavored cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I thought they were pretty good, not the greatest. I enjoyed the overall result although probably should have used riper bananas to get more of banana flavor. Pros: Cinnamon topping was great and i added some crushed cardamom (black seeds only) to give it some kick! I added egg to make more cake like. Nice side thing for work party or potluck. I will try it again without egg. Cons: Cooked faster in my gas oven, in 20 mins. it was done. Also, don't be worried if 11x17 pan sounds too big when you are pouring batter in, it was just right. Conclusion: Had to try this because it sounded so good. looks pretty with topping, which was easy to roll in when bars just came out of oven. A few pieces did get wasted because mine got burnt due to time I had set for cooking. *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
These were really good... used pecans instead of walnuts and put a layer of sweetened flaked coconut over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Very tasty, but when I tried to cut the bars while still warm, they crumbled apart. It does work to roll them in the cinnamon-confectioners sugar mixture when cooled. I added some coconut flakes to the mixture before baking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is the most excellent banana recipe I have ever eaten! Definitely better than banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I made this recipe for a Hawaiian B-Day party for my 11 yr.old nephew. The kids like the way they tasted. They were just like banana bread; however, they weren't very pretty. They sort of fell apart easily. I would probably make them again just for the house, but not for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
I did not want to take the warm bars out of pan to roll them in the powdered sugar/cinn. mixture so I just put it on the top like a frosting and then when we ate it we rolled the pieces on the top and it was still yummy. Great for when you need to use up the really ripe bananas and do not want to make bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States