Hawaiian Baked Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made some changes to this. I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg, to give it more of a sweet flavor. Follow the recipe just like it says, just sprinkle cinnamon instead. Also, instead of nuts, I crumbled up a pumpkin flax granola bar. Obviously, you don't have to brown the granola, just melt the butter, stir in the pumpkin flax granola, and spoon over the banana before baking. It was wonderful!!! The different flavors really came together well to give a wide bouquet of tastes. My dinner guest were uber impressed, and my better have suggested serving it with vanilla or caramel ice cream, but as I am Lactose intolerant, Ill pass :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very sweet and the nuts are a very good compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fantastic! I substituted almonds for pecans and served it all over ice cream....so delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very fun and fast. Next time I may even try plantains and make this a side dish. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I love this recipe and so does everyone else I have made it for so far. This is a recipe with bragging rights because it is tasty and healthy! I like to use pinapple juice on mine and add a little bit of coconut butter on top of the bananas before I pour the brown sugar mixture over mine. They are an exciting treat everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Notahoe14

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was okay and different. Following the recipe exactly makes a-lot of sauce that would be great on top of ice cream or a bread pudding. The banana's don't need as much sauce. Overall this was a good rich dish that my party guests liked okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I used flaked coconut instead of nuts, which was good. I would suggest using about half of the other ingredients, just because there was so much extra liquid leftover. Overall, very good...I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I cut this down to 1 serving and the same cooking time worked fine. Used unsalted macadamias, and their flavor went well with the bananas. I don't like the slight tang that's either added by the sherry or the orange juice, though. Brown sugar Splenda (1/2 of the amount called for in the recipe) worked fine. This looks beautiful and elegant - worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
These were great- a really good way to use up bananas. I slit the bananas length wise otherwise all the glaze just ran off and sat in the bottom of the pan. Anything that is left in the pan would be great over vanilla icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States