Hawaii Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
this recipe was really good. it didnt take us that long to cook, only a little longer than an hour. it tasted good and wasnt that hrd to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
i would give this a 5 star but i didn't follow the recipe. i'm giving the 4 stars for the sauce. i've made this several times and every time instead of cutting up a whole chicken, i slice up chicken breasts into large chicken strips, sprinkle them with salt and pepper, coat them in flour, egg wash then panko (japanese bread crumbs) and pan fry them in vegetable oil. i then remove them from the pan and stirfry the onion in the same pan (i don't normally add green pepper) and make the sauce according to the recipe. then i add the chicken strips back and cover and cook for another couple of minutes to heat through. Still a bit crispy. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I made this recipe last night for dinner, and it was a bit hit. My husband suggested next time using boneless chicken (but dosent like having bones in anything he eats) I would say to at least double if not triple the sauce as others suggested. I used thighs instead of the whole chiken, and did not have enough of the flour mixture to coat the chicken in but I assume that is because I hade more pieces. I only added a sprinkle of salf, as I was worried about the other comments about it being too salty and didnt have any issue at all. It was a GREAT recipe and I will be making it again witout a doubt. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Wonderful! I agree to double the sauce and add pepperflakes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This recipe was suprisingly wonderful. Everyone liked it alot. What we liked about it the best was that it was not really sweet! The only changes that I did, was use boneless chicken and made chicken strips instead of whole chicken pieces. (And I doubled the recipe for sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Very tasty dish! I recommend tripling the sauce, I doubled it and we didn't have nearly enough. I was also scared to put the soy sauce in due to other reviewer's comments that it was too salty - not the case at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This was very good. Nice change from every day "meat and potatoes". I did add 1 TBS of Ginger and about 1/2 TBS of Red pepper Flakes to "KICK IT UP a notch" It was very tasty. I doubled the sauce because my hsbnd wanted it for his rice. He couldnt get enough! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sawler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Loved this recipe! I used chunked pineapple instead of crushed and served on fried, wild rice. I used bone in chicken breast and the fried skin was yummy with the sauce. I also cut the green pepper and onions into half inch chunks instead of thin sliced. Next I will try it with boneless pork chops. Also very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I really enjoyed this, I had no cooking oil on hand so I used stir-fry oil instead, which just has sesame, garlic and ginger. Next time I will use only half the soy sauce, though, to cut down on the saltiness. I used chunks of pineapple and crushed them myself. I also used twice the flour and pepper for more texture. Juicest chicken I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States