Hawaii Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe was amazing! The way the chicken was prepared reminded me of sweet and sour chicken. I added 1 tsp of ginger and used Canola oil instead of Vegetable oil. I also only used half of the salt it called for since soy sauce is going into it. I served it over rice cooked with chicken broth instead of water. Next time, I'll take the rice one step further to fried rice. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very good except it was WAY too salty. Definately cut back on the salt. Also, I doubled the sauce and it still didn't leave much to put over our rice. Might triple it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a very delicious way of serving chicken. we served it on brown rice, and we loved every bite! We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe is awesome. My kids loved it and they are really picky. I will be using this recipe in my diner rotation from now on. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I follwed the recipe exactly except added a tiny bit of ginger, and used chicken breasts. At first it was okay. Nice and sweet, but had a weird texture. The more I ate of it, the worse I felt. Then after eating almost half a plate of this, I couldn't eat it anymore. My husband asked me to please don't make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Very good as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. In fact, an hour after I put the leftovers in the fridge I pulled it out again for another helping. I used two large chicken breasts cut in half. Because they were boneless I only cooked them in the oven for about 25 minutes before I put the sauce on. In the sauce I did add a little ginger. I found the sauce was also delcious with some green grapes cut in half added in the sauce right before putting the sauce on the chicken, just enough to warm them through. I really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
As it is written, I am giving this recipe 3 stars. I didn't think it had enough flavor and definitely not enough sauce. However, I have used sliced, boneless chicken breasts (not baked) and changed the sauce measurements to 2 Tablespoons and added garlic and sesame oil. I have also added other vegetables that I've had on hand. That makes it a totally different recipe, but my family loves it no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
this recipe was really good. it didnt take us that long to cook, only a little longer than an hour. it tasted good and wasnt that hrd to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
i would give this a 5 star but i didn't follow the recipe. i'm giving the 4 stars for the sauce. i've made this several times and every time instead of cutting up a whole chicken, i slice up chicken breasts into large chicken strips, sprinkle them with salt and pepper, coat them in flour, egg wash then panko (japanese bread crumbs) and pan fry them in vegetable oil. i then remove them from the pan and stirfry the onion in the same pan (i don't normally add green pepper) and make the sauce according to the recipe. then i add the chicken strips back and cover and cook for another couple of minutes to heat through. Still a bit crispy. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States