Hawaii Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
~Wow~ this was so easy and delicious! I doubled the sauce and added ginger and a little extra brown sugar. I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs because that is what I had on hand. (I reduced the cooking time to 30 minutes.) Chicken was so tender and the sauce was very flavorful. My husband LOVED it and there were no leftovers! A definite keeper. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Loved this recipe! I used chunked pineapple instead of crushed and served on fried, wild rice. I used bone in chicken breast and the fried skin was yummy with the sauce. I also cut the green pepper and onions into half inch chunks instead of thin sliced. Next I will try it with boneless pork chops. Also very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
The suggestions to add ginger were right on, we also doubled the sauce and added water chestnuts. It was fabulous! Next time we'll use boneless chicken, either breasts or thighs would work well. Love the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I tried this for Valentine's dinner... my girlfriend and I really enjoyed it. I was running late and didn't add the chicken stock/cornstarch. It still turned out great. Very easy. I used pineapple chunks instead of crushed... looks a little nicer. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
We're more of a "chicken breast" family so this was really different for us. I have never cut up a whole chicken and spent a lot of time restling with it. I thought the sauce was definitely missing something, maybe ginger? I doubled everything but the chicken so we'd have penty of sauce which was exactly enough for the 4 of us. Everyone liked it especially my 2-year-old who had 4 servings (loves pineapple!). I served with brown rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
good recipe...add extra soy sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Not bad, but didn't wow me either. I tripled sauce ingredients, used one can of tidbits, one can of crushed, two cups of peppers/onions, 1/4t ginger (right amount for kids btw) with four boneless, skinless breast halves. Needed more soy. A decent base recipe I guess. Quite pineapply, but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I was dissapointed because the chicken was very salty. I will try this recipe again without the salt and see how it works out because the sauce was great. I will double the sauce next time too because there wasn't quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This recipe was great. Our family prefers lower-fat dinners so I used boneless skinless chicken breast. I also added extra soy sauce and threw in some maple syrup. It was delicious over rice. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very good except it was WAY too salty. Definately cut back on the salt. Also, I doubled the sauce and it still didn't leave much to put over our rice. Might triple it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States