Hawaii Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This is really good, I took the suggestion of adding nutmeg, and doubling the sauce, I also tried a bit of white pepper, and some--just a pinch of oregano, and it was absolutely wonderful, wil make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I was dissapointed because the chicken was very salty. I will try this recipe again without the salt and see how it works out because the sauce was great. I will double the sauce next time too because there wasn't quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
To sum it up: Buy bottled sweet and sour sauce and save yourself the work. The chicken was too salty, but that could have been because I reduced the recipe and used chicken breasts instead. Still, the sauce was not nearly enough, so I ended up tripling the ingredients. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Excellent. This is to tastey and good. I made lots of extra sauce and served on brown rice and cooked carrots. My boyfriend said his mom's recipe has nothing on this one. p.s. I think would work great with pork to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
The suggestions to add ginger were right on, we also doubled the sauce and added water chestnuts. It was fabulous! Next time we'll use boneless chicken, either breasts or thighs would work well. Love the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
~Wow~ this was so easy and delicious! I doubled the sauce and added ginger and a little extra brown sugar. I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs because that is what I had on hand. (I reduced the cooking time to 30 minutes.) Chicken was so tender and the sauce was very flavorful. My husband LOVED it and there were no leftovers! A definite keeper. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This recipe was great. Our family prefers lower-fat dinners so I used boneless skinless chicken breast. I also added extra soy sauce and threw in some maple syrup. It was delicious over rice. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
good recipe...add extra soy sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
We're more of a "chicken breast" family so this was really different for us. I have never cut up a whole chicken and spent a lot of time restling with it. I thought the sauce was definitely missing something, maybe ginger? I doubled everything but the chicken so we'd have penty of sauce which was exactly enough for the 4 of us. Everyone liked it especially my 2-year-old who had 4 servings (loves pineapple!). I served with brown rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I tried this for Valentine's dinner... my girlfriend and I really enjoyed it. I was running late and didn't add the chicken stock/cornstarch. It still turned out great. Very easy. I used pineapple chunks instead of crushed... looks a little nicer. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States