Hawaii Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
When I added extra flour/salt/pepper to coat the rest of the chicken, it made it to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I tried this recipe and fond it very good. Honest report, I used chicken tenders and saute them till done, then set aside and proceeded from there. Did add broccoli and baby corns. Even my I hate sweet stuff adult son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, New York, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Delicious!! Simple and easy with a lovely look and taste. Will cook this for company. I followed suggestion to double the sauce and used chicken breast pieces and pineapple tidbits instead of crushed. Otherwise followed recipe as written and was very impressed. No leftovers here tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I ended up doing the same tweak as many other reviewers. I tasted the sauce and it was very pineapple-y, so I added fresh minced ginger and garlic too. I also doubled the sauce. Came out quite tasty! Others mentioned too salty, so instead of measuring salt, I just sprinkled some over the chicken (used bone-in thighs). And instead of shaking in a bag, I sprinkled the S&P right on the meat, then spooned a little flour over the thighs and rubbed it to evenly coat-just easier for me. Served over jasmine rice with peas and pineapple. Hubby and I really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is good & easier then I was anticipating. My husband liked it even more then I did. Very tender chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Not bad, but didn't wow me either. I tripled sauce ingredients, used one can of tidbits, one can of crushed, two cups of peppers/onions, 1/4t ginger (right amount for kids btw) with four boneless, skinless breast halves. Needed more soy. A decent base recipe I guess. Quite pineapply, but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
this is a very tasty way to eat chicken my oldest who is the only one in the house who does not like pineapples loved it and asked me to make it again so thank you very much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilfam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Love love this dish. The chicken was so moist and tender. The sauce was soooo delcious. I used 12 chicken thighs with skin and add salt and pepper directly on the meat and dipped in the flour. To increase the sauce I tripled the ingredients and added an 1 extra can of pineapple with juice. If you still need the sauce to thicken more you can always add the cornstarch with broth mixture later if you find it's not thick enough. Will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was wonderful! I think it made the perfect sweet and sour sauce, I couldn't have asked for better. I did somethings differently. I used a red bell (made the dish look so pretty and sweeter), just cooked the chicken in the skillet with some parsley and spices without the batter coating to cut down on calories. I also think a hint of red pepper flakes would make this dish! So great, thanks for putting it up. Oh p.s. side this with Grilled Hawaiians (like grilled cheese sandwiches with a twist) if you don't want rice and to finish off the left over pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States