Havana Slow Cooker Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was just wonderful! Smelled soooo good while cooking. I made exactly as written with a small exception, I had an individual bottle of OJ, just just threw the whole thing in, about 10 oz. I also cubed two sweet potatoes and added those to the crock, too. Pork was moist & flavorful, and the juices delicious over the pork. Loved this recipe! Thanks for sharing with us, arich01, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was very good but I cooked it for 8 hours instead of 6 so it fell apart into shredded pork. Will be excellent for sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Very good, sweet and spicy. I shredded the meat and served in tortillas. I had to substitute with things I had on hand, but it still worked: boneless pork sirloin chops instead of tenderloin, apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, bottled lemon juice instead of a real lemon. I also added a bag of frozen grilled red and yellow peppers. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Havana Slow Cooker Pork Haiku: "Way too much cumin. (And I like that spice a bunch.) Masked other flavors." I used a pork loin (not tenderloin, which I don't like to do in the crockpot), and followed the recipe as directed, but the citrus taste didn't really shine, as all I could taste was cumin. The pork itself was good, tender, and had a nice flavor, but it was just a bit heavy on the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
What can I say - excellent. I always brown my roasts or tenderloins before putting them in the slow cooker, so that's the only thing I did differently. I browned it with a little flour and salt/pepper coating. Other than that nothing else so differently. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I try to refrain from making too many alterations to a recipe, but sometimes you have to use good judgment when it comes to adding seasonings. Everyone’s tastes are different. For example, my husband likes cumin, but not a strong cumin taste. In my case, it’s lemon. I can tolerate a little bit of lemon, but not a lot. Then there's cayenne. Some can take the heat, some not. With all of that said, I really wanted to try something new with pork. I adjusted the cumin, grated lemon peel, and cayenne to a level that our tastes would accept. I also baked this in the oven with a watchful eye because tenderloins will dry out quickly if not cooked properly. After it was cooked, I thickened the pan drippings with corn starch and made a thin gravy for spooning over the top. Needless to say, this was absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was amazingly good and very easy. I followed the recipe exactly except to increase the orange juice to 1 cup and decrease the red pepper to 1/4 tsp. I used a little over 4 lbs of pork tenderloin, cooked it on low and it was done in a little over 4 hours. I served it with black beans (canned, I added a little onion, garlic and red wine vinegar) and brown rice. Delicious, fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was great and everyone loved it! I forgot to put the red pepper in, but really didn't miss it. Otherwise I made according to recipe. Served with Rice and steamed broccoli. Also had crushed, warmed pineapple to put on it. That brought it over the top. We plan to use the leftovers with corn tortillas, the pineapple, fresh cilantro for some amazing tacos. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was so amazing! It cooked perfectly in the slow cooker and my kids (who balk at ANYTHING new) loved it! I added a squeeze of lime and fresh cilantro just before serving and served it with plantains and balkbeans and rice. I will make this 1000 ways for any meal where I need a foolproof, amazing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrewHaHa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was delicious! I made it exactly as it is. My family says this is a keeper. I served it along with honey roasted sweet potatoes. Another reviewer put them in the slow cooker. I may try that another time but knew I would make sandwiches with the leftovers this time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States