Hatteras Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This wonderful clam chowder, just like my sister Kathleen used to make. She was from Mathews Co., VA, right on the Chesapeake Bay. Cook the vegtables with the bacon. I used fresh clams, finely ground. Thanks for setting us straight on what real clam chowder is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I love this recipe! Hatteras Style Clam Chowder is the only chowder I will eat! I am mot a fan a milk/cream based soups, this recipe is the best on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
My husband and I love the clear broth clam chowders and go to seafood festivals to enjoy them. This recipe was very close to the the festival servings. I've made it for my family and also took it to a Christmas get-together. It was a hit both times. I'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
The best chowder I've ever made. My customers want it to be the house soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is the best clam chowder I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is similar to a recipe we used at a San Francisco seafood restaurant in the 80s, with the addition of flour, and salt pork instead of bacon. Truly the best Chowder ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I live in Cape Hatteras, NC!! And trust me, this recipe is a local favorite. After you try it, you will NEVER eat creamy or tomato based chowder again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTERAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is now my new clam chowder. I did have to make some roux with cream for my boyfriend, tho, but just added this broth to his. He likes thick chowder. We were both happy! He loved it even tho he'd been skeptical about my putting bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
i will make this again and again...best chowder w out the cream (which we prefer) ive ever had thankyou for a great recipe! its the bomb of chowders! lol....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Best clam chowder I ever made! I used the shrimp water left over from boiling shrimp for a Christmas shrimp platter I made.(I froze the shrimp water until I needed it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States