Hatteras Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I am going to ask a stupid question. If you are using 2 cans of clam and juice, where are you getting the 3 qts of clam juice? When I go to my place at beach and I go to fish market and get my clams and steam and eat and use broth for chowder. But where I live I can get canned clams and bottled juice but you would need a whole lot of those little bottles to make 3 qts.. So I do not have a clue what the people reviewing this recipe are using for that clam juice.. It is a very good recipe, I have made it at beach when I had fresh clams and broth...please somebody fill me in. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I love this recipe! Hatteras Style Clam Chowder is the only chowder I will eat! I am mot a fan a milk/cream based soups, this recipe is the best on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I have been looking for a clear broth chowder recipe for awhile. Although this recipe is very good, I think it is worth it to note that if you go to your local fish market to get the broth, it is absolutely fantastic! The canned/jar variety just doesn't compare. My husband doesn't like bacon, so I omitted it. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Love this recipe because it's the alternative to the creamy version (I'm lactose intolerant).\ It's hard to find so much clam juice in the store, however. I just top it up with chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I live in Cape Hatteras, NC!! And trust me, this recipe is a local favorite. After you try it, you will NEVER eat creamy or tomato based chowder again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTERAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
My husband and I love the clear broth clam chowders and go to seafood festivals to enjoy them. This recipe was very close to the the festival servings. I've made it for my family and also took it to a Christmas get-together. It was a hit both times. I'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Not bad, but the broth needs thickening in my opinion. I used less water; rendered the bacon and put the browned bacon side and saved 1 tablespoon of the shortening to saute the onions, carrots and potatoes; then I added the 2 cans of canned clams (I know, not the same as the real deal), a bottle of the clam juice and 5 cups of h20. Simmered for 40 minutes; then added the cooked bacon as a garnish. Very yummy. Also made fresh french bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chile-loca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
The best chowder I've ever made. My customers want it to be the house soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This wonderful clam chowder, just like my sister Kathleen used to make. She was from Mathews Co., VA, right on the Chesapeake Bay. Cook the vegtables with the bacon. I used fresh clams, finely ground. Thanks for setting us straight on what real clam chowder is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is the best clam chowder I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States