Hatteras Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made this for my son because he likes clams, but he wasn't fond of the soup. I thought it was really good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
absolutely amazing. added a bit of old bay with the rest of the seasonings but i don't know if it made a difference. i love that it's filling and light. MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Love this recipe because it's the alternative to the creamy version (I'm lactose intolerant).\ It's hard to find so much clam juice in the store, however. I just top it up with chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This wonderful clam chowder, just like my sister Kathleen used to make. She was from Mathews Co., VA, right on the Chesapeake Bay. Cook the vegtables with the bacon. I used fresh clams, finely ground. Thanks for setting us straight on what real clam chowder is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Not bad, but the broth needs thickening in my opinion. I used less water; rendered the bacon and put the browned bacon side and saved 1 tablespoon of the shortening to saute the onions, carrots and potatoes; then I added the 2 cans of canned clams (I know, not the same as the real deal), a bottle of the clam juice and 5 cups of h20. Simmered for 40 minutes; then added the cooked bacon as a garnish. Very yummy. Also made fresh french bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chile-loca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Best clam chowder I ever made! I used the shrimp water left over from boiling shrimp for a Christmas shrimp platter I made.(I froze the shrimp water until I needed it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
The recipe was tasty but EXTREMELY salty. I took someone's suggestion of obtaining the clam juice at a fish market. The sodium content was 55%!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
i will make this again and again...best chowder w out the cream (which we prefer) ive ever had thankyou for a great recipe! its the bomb of chowders! lol....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is now my new clam chowder. I did have to make some roux with cream for my boyfriend, tho, but just added this broth to his. He likes thick chowder. We were both happy! He loved it even tho he'd been skeptical about my putting bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I live in Cape Hatteras, NC!! And trust me, this recipe is a local favorite. After you try it, you will NEVER eat creamy or tomato based chowder again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTERAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States