Hatteras Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I love this recipe! Hatteras Style Clam Chowder is the only chowder I will eat! I am mot a fan a milk/cream based soups, this recipe is the best on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
My husband and I love the clear broth clam chowders and go to seafood festivals to enjoy them. This recipe was very close to the the festival servings. I've made it for my family and also took it to a Christmas get-together. It was a hit both times. I'll certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I have been looking for a clear broth chowder recipe for awhile. Although this recipe is very good, I think it is worth it to note that if you go to your local fish market to get the broth, it is absolutely fantastic! The canned/jar variety just doesn't compare. My husband doesn't like bacon, so I omitted it. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
The best chowder I've ever made. My customers want it to be the house soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is the best clam chowder I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is similar to a recipe we used at a San Francisco seafood restaurant in the 80s, with the addition of flour, and salt pork instead of bacon. Truly the best Chowder ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I am going to ask a stupid question. If you are using 2 cans of clam and juice, where are you getting the 3 qts of clam juice? When I go to my place at beach and I go to fish market and get my clams and steam and eat and use broth for chowder. But where I live I can get canned clams and bottled juice but you would need a whole lot of those little bottles to make 3 qts.. So I do not have a clue what the people reviewing this recipe are using for that clam juice.. It is a very good recipe, I have made it at beach when I had fresh clams and broth...please somebody fill me in. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Great recipe; but since I like my bacon crispy, I diced and sauteed the bacon first, removed it, used the drippings to saute the onion and celery, then used bacon as garnish. Now it's a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I live in Cape Hatteras, NC!! And trust me, this recipe is a local favorite. After you try it, you will NEVER eat creamy or tomato based chowder again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTERAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is now my new clam chowder. I did have to make some roux with cream for my boyfriend, tho, but just added this broth to his. He likes thick chowder. We were both happy! He loved it even tho he'd been skeptical about my putting bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States