Hatteras Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe as is, I have prepared it many times. I personally like to start by frying the bacon and rather than using vegetable oil, I saute the vegetables in the rendered bacon fat. Perhaps not the healthiest way to go but it adds a nice smoky flavor and also a great mouth-feel to the final product. I haven't been able to personally justify the expense of the large quantities of clam juice, I add about a small bottle of juice along with chicken broth, the juice from the canned clams to make up the difference. I also tend to use a couple of cans of the baby clams along with the minced clams at the very end in order to retain the tenderness. One addition that I made the last time I prepared this soup is to add a bit (probably a teaspoon) of smoked paprika, it adds an incredible aroma and doesn't overpower the chowder. I was never a clam chowder fan before trying this particular version but I have found I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My New England born & bred husband prefers Manhattan style, I'm a native New Yorker who prefers New England style and this is one we both really liked - might have something to do with the OBX being our all time favorite vacation spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Adjusted to me liking...3 small cans of clam(chick of sea),no thyme,little less bacon,4cups of potatoes.....the secret is 2-3 days out,IT Rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was wonderful!! I use canned clams often and when I drain the juice, I freeze it for future use. this was the recipe I've been waiting for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
5 stars despite the fact I changed the recipe, becaus if I could rationalize spending so much money on clam juice (it comes in a bottle people, dont hate) then I would. I just use homemade chicken stock and all the juice from the clams. Love love love it!! So good for you too! (I also omit the bacon, because I usually forget it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Really good Hatteras Style Clam Chowder! However, I did make a few substitutions: I used baby red-skin potatoes instead of plain white potatoes, I cut back on the amount of clam juice to whatever was in the cans of clams plus a small bottle of plain clam juice, and then added vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Awesome, I have had this many times on the Outer Banks, as I have a second home in Nags Head. I have also enjoyed it where I live in Va. Beach, but I never new how to make it until now. This chowder rocks and blows away both Manhatten and New England chowders..........Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Buchanan
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a very tasty clam chowder :) My family can eat three bowls each in one sitting! I like to add extra bacon and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Buchanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I went to a country-style buffet in Gloucester, Va. where this was served. I had never had anything other than the New England or Manhattan styles. I loved this different style and went searching for a recipe, and Allrecipes did not let me down. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, ODella! I used mostly clam juice but did supplement with some chicken broth. Because I like a thick chowder, I did reduce the clam juice/broth by probably one quart. I first fried the bacon til done, then removed it and sauteed the onion, celery and carrots in the bacon grease, then proceeded according to the recipe. The restaurant I went to had what appeared to be a strip of fat-back floating in the chowder (bacon grease and fat back are a southern thing!) but I didn't use the fat back. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was so easy!!! My husband loves clear chowder and having grown up in New England I have had some good clear chowder and this was really good!!! Even better the next day after the clam taste has some time to really get into the flavor of the soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States