Hatteras Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is very similar to the clear broth Rhode Island chowder I'm used to having. The only difference - no carrots & celery & we use salt pork instead of bacon, but it's hard to find in the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe as is, I have prepared it many times. I personally like to start by frying the bacon and rather than using vegetable oil, I saute the vegetables in the rendered bacon fat. Perhaps not the healthiest way to go but it adds a nice smoky flavor and also a great mouth-feel to the final product. I haven't been able to personally justify the expense of the large quantities of clam juice, I add about a small bottle of juice along with chicken broth, the juice from the canned clams to make up the difference. I also tend to use a couple of cans of the baby clams along with the minced clams at the very end in order to retain the tenderness. One addition that I made the last time I prepared this soup is to add a bit (probably a teaspoon) of smoked paprika, it adds an incredible aroma and doesn't overpower the chowder. I was never a clam chowder fan before trying this particular version but I have found I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My New England born & bred husband prefers Manhattan style, I'm a native New Yorker who prefers New England style and this is one we both really liked - might have something to do with the OBX being our all time favorite vacation spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Adjusted to me liking...3 small cans of clam(chick of sea),no thyme,little less bacon,4cups of potatoes.....the secret is 2-3 days out,IT Rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was wonderful!! I use canned clams often and when I drain the juice, I freeze it for future use. this was the recipe I've been waiting for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
5 stars despite the fact I changed the recipe, becaus if I could rationalize spending so much money on clam juice (it comes in a bottle people, dont hate) then I would. I just use homemade chicken stock and all the juice from the clams. Love love love it!! So good for you too! (I also omit the bacon, because I usually forget it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Really good Hatteras Style Clam Chowder! However, I did make a few substitutions: I used baby red-skin potatoes instead of plain white potatoes, I cut back on the amount of clam juice to whatever was in the cans of clams plus a small bottle of plain clam juice, and then added vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Awesome, I have had this many times on the Outer Banks, as I have a second home in Nags Head. I have also enjoyed it where I live in Va. Beach, but I never new how to make it until now. This chowder rocks and blows away both Manhatten and New England chowders..........Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Buchanan
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a very tasty clam chowder :) My family can eat three bowls each in one sitting! I like to add extra bacon and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Buchanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I went to a country-style buffet in Gloucester, Va. where this was served. I had never had anything other than the New England or Manhattan styles. I loved this different style and went searching for a recipe, and Allrecipes did not let me down. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, ODella! I used mostly clam juice but did supplement with some chicken broth. Because I like a thick chowder, I did reduce the clam juice/broth by probably one quart. I first fried the bacon til done, then removed it and sauteed the onion, celery and carrots in the bacon grease, then proceeded according to the recipe. The restaurant I went to had what appeared to be a strip of fat-back floating in the chowder (bacon grease and fat back are a southern thing!) but I didn't use the fat back. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States