Hasty Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Much better than boxed pudding mix and almost as fast. The flavor is wonderful. If you don't have cornstarch on hand, I use an equal amount of flour, either all purpose or whole wheat, with great results. I've also substituted 2 teaspoons of bourbon instead of the vanilla extract for a great kick in flavor. For a lighter, more chocolate mousse type dessert, simple wait until the pudding cools for a few hours in the refrigerator and then gently fold in a carton or thawed cool whip. This was as good or better than the chocolate mousse I've had in nice restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holly Pond, Alabama, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Typo alert! With 3 TABLESPOONS of cornstarch instead of teaspoons, this recipe is excellent. It works with rice milk, soy milk, coconut milk, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
oh my! who knew making pudding from scratch could be so easy? And good! As I like to make things from scratch, this will fit into my recipe collection beautifully. I made a double batch, cooked it initially for 6 minutes and than 1 1/2 minutes twice at which point I added 2 T butter and 4 t vanilla. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We have made a correction to this recipe. It should be 3 tablespoons cornstarch, not 3 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was so easy and better than boxed mixes. I added a Tablespoon of I Can't Believe It's Not Butter along with the vanilla and it made it very rich. Delicious both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Very good!! I will never make box pudding again. Used Hersheys Special Dark cocoa and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was so easy and good! I used whole wheat flour because I didn't have any corn starch, and it turned out fine, I think white flour would be better though because it has less of a texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Quick, easy, and inexpensive. Do use a larger bowl than you think you'll need. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was so good thank you! I used half brown sugar and added a tablespoon of butter and it came out great! Perfect for the chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Yum! Follow the advice of others to add butter in with the vanilla. Didn't have corn starch on hand, so used A/P flour instead - worked fine. My 2 yr old doesn't like store bought pudding, but devoured this! Will definitely be making this for my family often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States