Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
These potatoes were different and really delicious. I used olive oil instead of butter, turned the potatoes over for about five minutes to crisp up the tops and once nicely browned, I flipped them again, added quite a bit of fresh bread crumbs which I had seasoned with garlic and onion powders, Italian seasonings, black pepper and lots of parm. Everyone loved these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have been making these for years, the presentation is wonderful, as for taste, any spices can be used, to change the flavor, from plain and simple to very spicy, its all in personal taste. 5 stars. Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These are delicious! And a little different from your typical potato side. My sister stumbled upon this before Christmas and we made them as a side for our Feast of Seven Fishes on Christmas Eve. I think my Dad at the leftovers three meals a day until they were gone. Great presentation too! I think these will be a new family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliskill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I have made this recipe for many years now and it is a nice change from the usual, mashed, fried or baked potatoes. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were super! I also turned them over and let them brown on the top. Also, I added way more bread crumbs than recommended. I spread the slices apart to make sure crumbs were in there also. I also added some garlic powder. My husband loved these. i will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great technique with the spoon. I used small red potatoes and peeled them. Maybe next time I won't bother peeling them. I tried to cram all the potatoes in too small of a dish. I think if you give them some room they tend to open up a bit more so when you sprinkle of the cheese and breadcrumbs there is more surface area to catch the good stuff. Everyone raved about these potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
What a wonderful recipe! They turned out crunchy and full of flavor. I tried using a pretty deep spoon at first but it only cut halfway thru the potato; just a regular serving spoon did the trick! Before putting them in the pan I spread them out as much as possible. I was generous with the salt and pepper in the first coating, and I doubled the bread crumb and cheese combo, adding a bunch of seasonings to it and pulsing in my food processor (I used half romano and half parmesan). Turned out golden brown and really tasty, worth the little extra effort--thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I thought that these were excellent. I love potatoes but usually don't care for baked potatoes all that much. And I think that they were very simple and quick to prepare, aside from the baking time, but that is to be expected with any type of baked potato. I was generous with brushing on the melted butter, since I didn't have Romano cheese, and sprinkled the potatoes with a little dill along with the salt and pepper. Even the leftovers were divine! Thank you, POMPIER850!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Beautiful presentation! I used parmesan instead of romano and added liberal amounts of fresh cracked black pepper and sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Easy and delicious, and very attractive for a company meal. My wife asks for these about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States