Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
these were not my cup of tea. bland, took forever to cook. mashed or roasted cut up potatoes are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I've been making a potato similar to this for years. I insert thin slices of onion into the potato slices, slather the top with some butter, salt and pepper, wrap in foil, and cook on the grill (could cook in the oven, too). But this is a very nice alternative with far nicer presentation than just an ordinary baked potato. I used panko bread crumbs which gave this a little more crunch. Another way to slice the potatoes is put a wooden spoon on the counter, place the potato next to the round spoon handle, and slice...you'll never slice all the way through the potato (just be careful on the ends of the potato). Very nice recipe and looks great on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious! I used olive oil instead of butter, and omitted the parmesan simply because I didn't have any. I put salt, pepper, and garlic on the potato prior to baking, and it came out perfect. Will never make a baked potato any otherway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I loved these potatoes, the rest of the fam could take em or leave em..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
We absolutely loved these!! I did make a couple small modifications, but I'm sure they would have been great as the recipe states. When I sprinkled the S&P, I also sprinkled on a little fresh parsley and garlic powder. Looking forward to trying these on the grill this summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
It didn't work well for me, but it is hard to actually ruin a potato for me so it was eaten, just no "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Made this for dinner tonite...did not use the bread crumbs and did peel the potatoes. They were a hit. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
this recipe was quite tasty but mine didnt look quite that pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morganza, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Delicious! I used garlic infused olive oil instead of butter and they turned out perfect :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Not sure if my review counts b/c I didn't opt for some ingredients but figured the process/idea was worth 5 stars! I omitted the breadcrumbs and cheese. Instead, I added sliced garlic between potato slices, then drizzled melted butter and olive (infused w/spices) oil with cracked pepper and sea salt. I used LARGE potatoes and had to heat for 60 minutes... and brushed after 40 min w/more butter & olive oil. They were delicious... my mom is Irish and really picky about her baked potatoes, she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States