Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Pretty good, will definately make them again as a cheap and easy side for dinner. When I first cut them they didn't really separate, but they will in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very nice just as presented. Our favorite twist is to cut the potatoes, then wrap them in a deli-size sheet of foil and bake for about half an hour. Melt the butter, press in a clove or two of garlic, fresh ground pepper, and about an eighth of a teaspoon of crushed rosemary per potato. Fold back the deges of the foil to expose the top half of the potato, pour melted butter mix on top(the foil 'boat' keeps in all the goodies!) Add a good sprinkle of sea salt. Bake until edges are crispy, about another 15-20 mins. Add cheese and throw back in the oven for a few minutes. Bacon/cheddar, spicy variations are great, too. Try different things- we haven't found a clinker yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made one white and one sweet potato, and both came out lovely. The potatoes were crispy outside and soft inside, and the bread crumbs added a nice texture (I used panko as that is what I had on hand). The only change I made was to use garlic salt to give a little extra flavor, and I added chopped pecans to the sweet potato. Took some time to slice but really not a difficult thing to do. I think slicing them thin is key because it helps get more butter and seasoning into the potato. Thinking about making these for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I have been searching for a recipe like this - I made it once in year 8 at school and have been wanting to make again. Absolutely delicious, we'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I followed the directions on cutting the potatoes but then I couldn't seem to get the cheese and butter in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan_Kump
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Tasty, great alternative to the baked potato. I followed recipe exactly but next time I will play around with some different herbs for flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was a nice change from the typical baked potato. I used 1T butter and 1T olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt and onion salt in place of the regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
used evoo, sliced garlic, salt & pepper, paprika - they were fantastic! Will add some panko and parm next time for extra yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These are my all-time favorite potatoes. I find you don't have to do anything difficult to them to have them come out great - I just scrub the potatoes, cut the slices with two wooden spoon handles guarding the bottom of the potato and stick them in the oven when I've added the flavorings that go with my main dish. They are really amazing with a small basil leaf between each slice, or a sliver of garlic, or both. They brown very nicely without breadcrumbs or cheese, but they are also good with cheeses of all kinds, depending on what your guests or family prefer. The original ones in the Swedish pub were completely plain, I believe, except for the butter and salt that made them brown so nicely - and nobody has ever complained about plain Hasselbacks that I've ever heard of. It was brilliant of Pompier850 to post them in this accessible spot - helps make the world a better place. By the way, our family also calls them armadillos, proving that great minds think alike. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I've made this twice now. First time I followed the recipe and they were delicious. This time I sliced them and then poured a melted stick of butter over all 15 potatoes then I baked them for 30 minutes. I mixed about 1/2 cup of olive oil and several sprigs of fresh rosemary (finely chopped) and about 4 cloves of garlic(finely chopped). Attempted to stuff the potatoes. Tried to get in as much of the oil/rosemary/garlic mix in between the slices. Covered the potatoes and cooked for another 45 minutes to 1 hours. Sprinkled with a little bit of parmesan cheese when they came out. Covered so that the cheese would melt. They were beyond Delicious. They looked So fancy and SO pretty. I wish I would have taken an after pic. But we gobbled them up. This is really a nice recipe to kick your average Baked Potato into high GEAR ! Presentation is beautiful. Thanks POMPIER850 !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States