Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great preso for a baked potato-come on you have to agree! I made these to make sure my kids ate something for dinner and as predicted, they liked it. I don't know if I'd bake a plain potato again after this. Now for what I've changed...broiled for 3 minutes, just to really toast up the top. I used less than 1 tbsp of bread crumb per ten potatoes. I didn't have the cheese so I didn't add it. Good simple stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These were different that the standard baked potato.... and tasted good if they were eaten with sour cream or butter because the centers seemed a little hard and dry... pretty good flavor... maybe next time I will bake longer to soften the inside or cover my baking dish for the first half an hour....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My mom has been making these for as long as I can remember....and I've made them many, many times as well. We call them armadillos in our house! :-) I add a little garlic salt to the butter, and we are very liberal with the grated parm. We also serve with sour cream.....because it makes everything better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent dish, made like Recipe and enjoyed by everyone even picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I left the skins on and precooked the potatoes in the microwave for about 5 min before sliceing them. This cut back on oven time a lot. Also added a little sprinkle of garlic to each potato and broiled for the last min or two to get a nice brown crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These are pretty good! Great change from plain baked potatoes :) Definitely use a spoon to restrict yourself from cutting all the way thru the potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These were fantastic! I did use white cheddar in place of romano, but they still came out great. I saved a little time by microwaving the potatoes for 5 min each (after slicing) to cook them before placing them in the oven with the other ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy VanHook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I thought these were excellent! Made as written. I only added sour cream when we ate them. Super yummy, and very easy to prepare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So good!! Definitely a nice change to a regular baked potato, they are crispy on the outside and flavorful and tender inside. I mixed a little minced garlic and white pepper with my butter before drizzling it on and baking...turned out extremely flavorful. Also I didnt have a wooden spoon so I stuck a bamboo skewer across the very bottom of the potato and sliced the knife all the way down until it hit the skewer...it was very easy to slice all the potatoes that way without cutting all the way through. These are beautiful and flavorful, would definitely recommend and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calibabycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I was intriqued by the concept but wasn't very impressed with the outcome. As others have noted these were on the dry side, and I'm not sure I'm so fond of bread crumbs and Romano cheese on potatoes. Might consider trying these again without peeling the potatoes, drizzling them with butter and some herbs or seasoning, covering them with foil until nearly done, then uncovering them at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States