Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I have been searching for a recipe like this - I made it once in year 8 at school and have been wanting to make again. Absolutely delicious, we'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I followed the directions on cutting the potatoes but then I couldn't seem to get the cheese and butter in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan_Kump
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Tasty, great alternative to the baked potato. I followed recipe exactly but next time I will play around with some different herbs for flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was a nice change from the typical baked potato. I used 1T butter and 1T olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt and onion salt in place of the regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
used evoo, sliced garlic, salt & pepper, paprika - they were fantastic! Will add some panko and parm next time for extra yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These are my all-time favorite potatoes. I find you don't have to do anything difficult to them to have them come out great - I just scrub the potatoes, cut the slices with two wooden spoon handles guarding the bottom of the potato and stick them in the oven when I've added the flavorings that go with my main dish. They are really amazing with a small basil leaf between each slice, or a sliver of garlic, or both. They brown very nicely without breadcrumbs or cheese, but they are also good with cheeses of all kinds, depending on what your guests or family prefer. The original ones in the Swedish pub were completely plain, I believe, except for the butter and salt that made them brown so nicely - and nobody has ever complained about plain Hasselbacks that I've ever heard of. It was brilliant of Pompier850 to post them in this accessible spot - helps make the world a better place. By the way, our family also calls them armadillos, proving that great minds think alike. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I've made this twice now. First time I followed the recipe and they were delicious. This time I sliced them and then poured a melted stick of butter over all 15 potatoes then I baked them for 30 minutes. I mixed about 1/2 cup of olive oil and several sprigs of fresh rosemary (finely chopped) and about 4 cloves of garlic(finely chopped). Attempted to stuff the potatoes. Tried to get in as much of the oil/rosemary/garlic mix in between the slices. Covered the potatoes and cooked for another 45 minutes to 1 hours. Sprinkled with a little bit of parmesan cheese when they came out. Covered so that the cheese would melt. They were beyond Delicious. They looked So fancy and SO pretty. I wish I would have taken an after pic. But we gobbled them up. This is really a nice recipe to kick your average Baked Potato into high GEAR ! Presentation is beautiful. Thanks POMPIER850 !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
these were not my cup of tea. bland, took forever to cook. mashed or roasted cut up potatoes are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I've been making a potato similar to this for years. I insert thin slices of onion into the potato slices, slather the top with some butter, salt and pepper, wrap in foil, and cook on the grill (could cook in the oven, too). But this is a very nice alternative with far nicer presentation than just an ordinary baked potato. I used panko bread crumbs which gave this a little more crunch. Another way to slice the potatoes is put a wooden spoon on the counter, place the potato next to the round spoon handle, and slice...you'll never slice all the way through the potato (just be careful on the ends of the potato). Very nice recipe and looks great on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious! I used olive oil instead of butter, and omitted the parmesan simply because I didn't have any. I put salt, pepper, and garlic on the potato prior to baking, and it came out perfect. Will never make a baked potato any otherway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States