Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This made a good basic side that everyone seemed to enjoy. I did make a few changes, however: I replaced one can of soup with cream of mushroom, used fresh sauteed onion instead of flakes, and added a clove of minched garlic, about four extra ounces of cheddar, and a pound of browned sausage. It needed all the flavor these additions gave it. I made one batch immediately in the oven and it was kind of bland. I put the other batch in my crockpot and set it in the fridge for two days (frozen potatoes and all-- they thawed while in there) and cooked it for about four hours on low. It turned out MUCH creamier and more flavorful. I crushed croutons in melted butter for the topping. Thanks for the recipe! I'd make it again for a group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was pretty good! I didn't add sour cream bc we don't like it and just added some milk. Also added sausage and will try with hamburger meat next time. I halved the recipe and also added a few extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great tasting recipe! I didn't have any cornflakes so I used French's fried onions. Tasted great. Next time I will try it with Low Fat Cream of Chicken, and Fat Free Sour Cream to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
very good! I added onions and more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe is fantastic, everyone raves about it. I add cubed ham and peas and you have a perfect meal! YUMMMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D.
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved it. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made it for a potluck and EVERYONE loved it. I added some hot sauce in the mix knowing a lot of my coworkers like spicy / hot foods. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie
Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Better than Cracker Barrel! Unfotunately, I have been put in charge of potatoes for the rest of my life. What's up with that!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I love hashbrown Casserole. I use cream of celery soup instead and it tasts way better. More cheese for sure and real onion. Instead of cornflakes for the top try regular chips. It will turn out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I love this casserole,however I use cream of mushroom soup and I top with Frenches's french fried onions. It gives it a great flaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States