Hash Brown and Pork Chop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
WoW! This was awesome! My husband and I really enjoyed this dish tonight. Like some of the others I changed things a bit: I browned the potatoes and onions in an extra large skillet, put them in a large bowl and while frying the chops in worchester sauce in the same skillet, I stirred up the potato mixture. I added some extra cheese to the mixture, too. I then spread a thin layer of potatoes in the pan then placed the chops and rest of potatoes on top with more cheese. This was very yummy and I'll be making it again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was pretty good. I fried the chops with a lot of worchestshire sauce, garlic, and the onions. After the chops were done, I cooked the hashbrowns a bit in the same pan. I mixed the cheese in with the potatoes, nestled the chops in instead of putting them on top, and baked them at 350 for 1.5 hours. I put more cheese on top 20 minutes before they were done. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Very Good!!! I too browned the Chops in the Worcestershire Sauce, plus browned the onions & hashbrowns too. Chops came out tender being buried in the mixture too! I also used cream of mushroom soup and blended half the cheese into the mixture. Then added the other half of cheese during the last 20 minutes of baking. My husband said I can make this again. Thanks for all the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Pork chops turned out good, but the hashbrowns couldn't brown under the meat and they were just kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Comfort food! I used mushroom soup, blended the cheese(I used mozzarella and cheddar) in the hash browns NOT on top, I cooked onions in a little butter in the same pan I browned(not cooked!) the Chops in. Cooked with Chops on top and they turned out tender and the potatoes done! I did cook at 350 for 1 1/2hrs. Good comfort recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I listed to the others suggestions and this turned out great. I browned the chops with worchestershire, basil and garlic and placed on bottom of dish. I fried the hashbrowns a bit with some onion soup mix and olive oil. I also added a bit of onion soup mix and ranch dressing to the soup mixture. Everyone loved this including my very picky 2.5 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This recipe was rather bland. My husband and I didn't really care for it at all. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I did as others suggested and browned the chops and onions first. I also pre-cooked the hashbrowns a little.I used cream of chicken with herbs to add alittle more flavor. The hashbrown part of the casserole was fantastic! I did mess up the chops by cubing them before adding them in, next time I will leave them whole and bury them in the hashbrowns so they will stay moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
As some other reviewers suggested I browned the chops with worcestershire and onions. Followed the rest of the recipe pretty closely. Pork was flavorful and tender, but potatoes were not fully cooked (still a little crunchy). Would probably cook them a little first before adding the pork to make sure they were softer and could brown a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Very good recipe! I used garlic powder on my pork chops before browning them, and shredded my potatoes in my "salad shooter" instead of using frozen hash browns. Also, I used cr. of chicken soup, as we don't care for celery. The result: a tasty, good-for-cold-winter-nights- warm up your tummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States