Hash Brown and Pork Chop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was okay. My husband really liked it, but it just didn't do it for me-it just seemed like something was missing. The flavor just seemed muted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This has become a regular dish as everyone in the family eats it!! The only thing I changed was the soup. I usually use cream of mushroom. It also takes about 15 minutes longer, but I am at high altitude, about 7000 feet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This recipe made a hit with my family. We will now add it to our favorite list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good! Even the kids ate every bite. I did make one change by adding french fried onions instead of diced onion. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wow, hard to know where to start with this one! I enjoyed this but I made a lot of modifications based on other reviews. First, I used O'Brian potatoes because I wanted the onion and pepper already in there. I browned my pork chops in worchestershire sauce and seasoned them with garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Then I browned the potatoes a bit too before I put them in the dish. I used cream of mushroom soup and mixed in half the cheese with the soup and sour cream. I layered the potatoes, chops, potatoes and baked for about 40 minutes. I sprinkled cheese over the top during the last 10 minutes of baking. It was quite good, although I'm not sure how much it actually resembles the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I will not be making this one again,the pork chops were not tender at all!!they were horrible, I followed the recipe exactly don't know what went wrong. the hashbrowns were alright I might try just making those without the chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I think this recipe was just ok. Nothing special. I felt is was quite heavy and very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Camillus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Sorry, we didn't like this at all. I browned the pork with seasoning and it was still bland. After 50 minutes the pork was still not done. after 80 minutes the pork was done and the hashbrown was mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
this recipe is the best. because i have small kids i cut up the chops into bite size pieces and mix it into the hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I cut way back on the onions, and used the advise of others and browned the chops with the onion. I still tasted way too much onion in the pork chops. This recipe tasted like chops in cheesey potatoes to me, however I am giving it 3 stars as my husband did enjoy it (he likes onions more than me). I did layer as suggested and used the worchestire, but we both agreed if we made it again we would marinate the chops longer in possibly Soy or Teriyaki sauce for more flavor in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Helgerson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States