Hash Brown and Pork Chop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Great recipe!!! I added jar of sliced mushrooms & green beans and used cream of mushroom instead but was just great and my picky kids liked it! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I was glad that I read most of the reviews before starting this recipe. I browned the pork chops with worc. sause, garlic powder, and seasoning salt but next time will omit the worc. sause because I found the taste wasn't fitting to the final result. I cooked the potatoes and onions in the same pan after with onion soup mix for flavour. Doubled up on cheese and put half into the mixture, along with mushroom soup in place of celery. Put a thin layer of the potatoe mixture on bottom, then put the chops (this kept them moist), then the rest of the potatoes. In oven for about 50, but 60 would be better. Put remaining cheese on top with about 20 minutes left and kept the lid off. Was really good and full of flavour tho next time will cut back on the sauce just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Read a lot of the reviews and was quite glad I did. I browned the chops with garlic, salt, pepper, & worcestershire sauce. I also browned in a seperate pan the potatoes with onion. Combined the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and added to the potatoes. Next time I will add a half of cup of sour cream instead of a cup. (Little too creamy for us). I sprayed a 13x9 baking dish with cooking spray (easy clean up) and added a thin layer of potatoes, then the chops and then the rest of the potatoes and cheese. A nice comfort food. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Pretty good and great for a quick easy meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very nice. I doubled up on the cheese adding one half to the sauce. I also dusted the chops with garlic powder before browning. I served this with a spicy red cabbage and apple bake - they went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I made this as a dinner dish for some variety. I took the advice of others and used onion soup mix in the hash browns and used half cup salad dressing in place of half the sour cream. Smelled delicious while cooking and my picky eaters 5 and 2 loved this dish! Will definately make again, but will probably add more spice to the pork chops (I used center cut chops thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This was really good with some changes. We browned meat in skillet with worc. sauce, salt, pepper, & garlic powder.Then fried hashbrowns in the same pan, I added some more spice to these also,and I fried them with the onions. I used cream of chicken soup. I also used 1/4 cup milk instead of 1/2. I used 1cup cheese in with potatoes. Then added more on top. I also buried the pork in between potatoes. Very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
We are pretty easy to please most of the time, but we just didn't like this. Way too many potatos, and the pork chops were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I followed the advice of others and browned the pork chops in a skillet with some worchestire sauce and seasoned the chops with garlic powder and some all purpose seasoning. I used a bag of simply potatoes hash browns(less than the 2 pounds called for in the recipe) and used less sour cream (reduced fat) and a can of cream of chicken and mushroom. I had no milk so I added some mayo (also reduced fat).AndI used 2% sharp cheddar cheese , but used less of it than called for. I mixed all these together with the potatoes and some onion soup mix. I found the onion flavor to be a bit strong (maybe I used to much). I buried the chops in the potatoes while cooking and I think I overcooked them because my chops were not very tender. I baked for an our and 15 minutes at 350. (Next time I will bake only 45 minutes) My husband said it was good- but definitely not his favorite pork chops dinner I make. (he likes a lemon piccata recipe I make with pork)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
My family enjoyed this, a nice and easy one pan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States