Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This turned out well. I knew this would be far too thick for us in an 8x8 pan, though, so I used a 9x13 pan and added one extra egg. I didn't have frozen hash browns and used refrigerated ones. I kept everything else the same. Our favorite part was the crispy edges, so next time, I'll bake in muffin cups or mini loaf pans for more edges. I had more potatoes than I needed, so I made a small pan with the leftover hash browns and used bacon in that one. But we liked the sausage one much better. I'll definitely make this again, but I think I'll add more to the mixture...peppers, mushrooms, broccoli and/or greens would all make great additions for us. And next time I'll mix a little of the cheese with the hash browns before I pat them in the pan...maybe a little of the sausage, too. The potatoes got a little lost flavor-wise with the thick layer of cheese and sausage on the top. But this is definitely a keeper for us, and it will probably be our Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This turned out great for me when I brought it to a church brunch. The combination of egg, cheese, potatoes and sausage are always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is great and its been a great hit in my home. Great idea for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Costa's Cafe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Delicious but when I make it again I will use a 13x9" pan. I only used a 1lb14oz bag of hash browns and it seemed like a lot of potatoes. Maybe it will be better if they are spread out more. I would also use a mix of shredded and potatoes o'brien. Having said all that, my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Good recipe but listen to the others....I used 7 eggs and used a 9 x 13 dish. I wish I had added more seasonings to the hash browns and browned them first because they came out rather bland. Other than a few minor adjustments it is worth making this...it will feed a small gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
yeah babeee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe is great.I've made it twice and my hubby and I love it.The only addition I made was to cover it until the last 15 minutes and I added just one egg extra.Other than that it is great.Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
WoW!! I made this recipe this morning with ingredients on hand (no onion, substituted pepper jack cheese) and it was incredible. My husband had three servings! I made a few changes, but HATE when people write their own version if the recipe, so I won't!! Definitely worth the ingredients and the time invested and will make this again for Christmas Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela McNeill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I just put this in the oven. I used fresh, sliced Yukon Gold potatoes. I used the 9x13 pan and increased the eggs to 8. Didn't change anything else...I'll post the results after breakfast. Go Griz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di Stackhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
family loved it, easy to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States