Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
If you plan on making this, please note that you will definitely need a 9 x 11 baking pan, plus you'll probably want to use at least 8 eggs. In addition to the sausage, I also threw in a couple of large diced tomatoes and a diced green bell pepper from the garden. Also made it with a combination of extra-sharp and Swiss cheeses. Turned out really well, and my toddlers couldn't get enough. Looking forward to trying it with bacon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Most people tweak recipes, and based on most of the "not so favorable" comments, here are my suggestions for a much more savory dish...Use REAL potatoes, certainly not frozen hash browns. Use both red potatoes with skin on, AND a combination of sweet potatoes in whatever ratio you prefer 80/20. Par boil them, then brown them real well. 2. Sharp cheddar as the cheese choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is a really good basic recipe. We made without sausage the first time (didn't have any). We used it as a potato base for some sloppy joe meat that I made. I will be making again with sausage. Planning on adding chopped celery and carrots for flavor when cooking the sausage and onion. Going to add creme fraiche instead of milk to the eggs for extra creaminess and some zing. Will add some more spicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe! Other reviewers are right, it will not fit in a 2 quart dish. I put mine in a 9X11 pan, it was the perfect size. I made it exactly as it was written. I will add two or three more eggs next time. Five eggs was not enough, you could probably even double the eggs. It was very delicious, my kids 11 and 15 and picky about breakfast food really liked it. Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baslhicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Excellent, but next time I will try adding 2 more eggs. My preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Changes a few things....made 1lb of bacon for the meat, 8 eggs, only half the hash browns. Seasoned the hash browns with salt & pepper and mixed with half the bacon crumbled. I then layered with half the cheese; mixed the rest of the bacon (crumbled) with egg and poured on top. Cooked at 350 for 45 min then removed foil and cook 20 min at 375
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Good, a little dry. Definitely needs a 9x13 pan. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I will add something to the potatoes before baking next time. They needed a little something extra. Maybe I didn't drain the sausage as well as I should have, or maybe it was the shredded cheddar, or both - but I had to drain off A LOT of oil before serving. I like the recipe for the simplicity however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as directed, using bulk Italian sausage. It was easy to prepare the entire family loved it. The recipe made much more than I needed, so I made it in two pans and froze one. The second dish was frozen for 4 months, but when thawed and cooked, it equally as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
After reading everyones reviews added 3 extra eggs, milk, and sour cream. Also added some rotel, and used the 1 lb bag of has browns out of the refrigerator section. Used a 9x13 dish 8x8 was impossible even before the extra stuff. It was still kind of bland I suggest maybe some bell pepper and if you do rotel...do hash brown rotel cheese sausage eggs then cheese. I will be garnishing with a little salsa or hot sauce for some flare. Over all great base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States