Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made it the night before and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for a morning event, it was gone in no time! I think the next time I cook this I may brown the hash browns a bit more before adding the eggs for a bit more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Definitely a good recipe. I jsut recommend browning the hashbrowns before assembling the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I'm not one to alter recipes and then give negative reviews. I followed this as written. If you are using Simply Potatoes, they are packaged in 1lb-4oz bags, this recipe calling for 2lbs so I used 2 bags. Don't use 2 bags unless you want more potatoes than anything else, and it definitely does not fit in a 2qt dish. Other than that, it would have been great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I spread the hash browns into a 9x13" pan sprayed with PAM the day before I plan to use. Then I bake those potatoes in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. Meanwhile I brown the sausage and onion. Once the pan comes out of the oven I top the potatoes with the sausage and cheese. When cooled I cover and refrigerate until the morning. Set the pan out to warm a little before I pour on the egg mixture - then bake as recipe directs. Sometimes to take this recipe over the top I add crisp,crumbled bacon,too. It's a 2 meat treat! You have an almost make ahead brunch casserole that is super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
As others mention, this recipe is too big to fit in a 2 qt casserole. Use larger baking dish or cut down recipe. Good breakfast for seeral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I had to use double the eggs. But my result was delicious. What I ended up with after adding the eggs was 5 star worthy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Recipe was a good start. After reading a lot of the reviews and using the items I had on hand I made some changes and it came out delish! I cut the potatoes in half (and prebaked them w/a bit of butter the night before), used smashed up pork sausage patties precooked w/onions, increased the eggs to 8. I also added a 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1/4 cup of Sour cream to the egg mixture. I then put a few shakes of Sriracha sauce in for a little kick! I substituted a blend of Mexican cheeses for the Cheddar too. I baked these as individual squares in my Pampered Chef Brownie pan and they came out awesome; nice and crispy on all sides! Packaged the leftovers in snack size baggies (2 squares per baggie) for quick on the go breakfast during the week. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This turned out well. I knew this would be far too thick for us in an 8x8 pan, though, so I used a 9x13 pan and added one extra egg. I didn't have frozen hash browns and used refrigerated ones. I kept everything else the same. Our favorite part was the crispy edges, so next time, I'll bake in muffin cups or mini loaf pans for more edges. I had more potatoes than I needed, so I made a small pan with the leftover hash browns and used bacon in that one. But we liked the sausage one much better. I'll definitely make this again, but I think I'll add more to the mixture...peppers, mushrooms, broccoli and/or greens would all make great additions for us. And next time I'll mix a little of the cheese with the hash browns before I pat them in the pan...maybe a little of the sausage, too. The potatoes got a little lost flavor-wise with the thick layer of cheese and sausage on the top. But this is definitely a keeper for us, and it will probably be our Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States