Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made it twice now, using amounts available. The time I used only 3 eggs, I lined 2 cups of shredded hash browns on the bottom of a greased 8 X 8 glass dish. I seasoned the potatoes with about 1 TB. Lawry's Seasoned Salt (my favorite) and 1/2 tsp. freshly-ground pepper before adding egg/milk mixture. I then layered 1/2 pound crumbled sausage/onion/mushroom (pizza fixins leftover from night before). Forgot to layer the cheese, so I added 1 cup of cheddar/jack cheese on top before covering with foil. I checked for doneness at 30 mins. (it was firm) and removed foil for final 5 mins. of baking. The hash browns formed a brown crust around the edges. Served on small plates with a few wedges of tangelos from our backyard tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Guzauskas Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This was good, filling. Sort of bland. Definitely cut back on the potatoes and doubled the milk and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe was awesome! I used bacon instead of sausage. My family loved it! It was easy to make; it tasted great right out of the oven and even re-heated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Very good! Family loved it. I added three more eggs to the recipe as others suggested. I precooked the 1 lb. of shredded potatoes in a skillet with oil and butter and then put the potatoes in the oven for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I then layered the egg mixture, cheese and sausage. My family likes spicy foods so they added salsa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinosu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I must say for such a simple recipe this one is worth the effort. The only addition my guests suggested was spicing it up with hot sauce. I thought it was even better the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I just have to say..this was the bomb! My family loved it! Even my daughter was able to have some and she's not fond of eggs!!! I used ham instead of sausage and didn't saute' the onions. This is going to be our traditional Christmas breakfast from now on. My hubby said I could actually make it for a dinner sometime! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Wisner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I thought it was way dry and bland. Everyone ate it, but wanted ketchup on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was really good. I didn't have any onion powder so I added a few more onions to the egg mix. I will definitely take some suggestions and precook the hashbrowns and use a larger pan. Definitely use the aluminum foil or the sausage and cheese will overcook. I will also add peppers and perhaps some salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Just made this for my brother and I. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damessa Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I agree with those who feel that there is too much potato and not enough egg in this recipe. Next time I'll cut back on the potato and add a few more eggs and a little more milk. I also suggest adding a little dry mustard - maybe 1/2 tsp - and browning the potatoes before baking. A nice change from the sausage, egg and cheese casserole with the cubed bread that I usually make for breakfast on Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States