Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I altered the recipe a bit based on previous reviews and it turned out tasty. I used a 9x13 glass pan, 11 medium eggs,1 two pound bag of hash browns,1 small pack of pre-cooked & diced ham,1 small onion,1 cup milk, doubled the garlic and onion powder, and used a total of 3 cups of cheddar. I sautéed the hash browns and onion before putting them in the casserole. I burnt the top a bit. Next time I will cook on 350, covered for 45 minutes and then broil uncovered for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Was a little disappointed. Tasted good but was on the dry side. I would either cut the hashbrowns in half OR keep the amount of hashbrowns and double everything else. Would like it to have more egg to it. Overall, not a bad recipe. My family enjoyed it enough to finish it off in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Easy to make. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Very good recipe, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight, and while all my children ate it readily enough, I thought it a tad bland. It's a very good base however, and I plan to spice it up a bit next time. A good utility recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Did not like it, too dry even tho I added more eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used ground turkey that I added spices to to "fake" pork sausage. I did add a few more eggs, some real bacon bits (I was cleaning out the fridge) and one can of diced mild green chilies. MAN, this was DELICIOUS. I topped my portion with sour cream and homemade salsa.......then went back for seconds. I didn't even mess with my toast. NOTE: Mine took almost two hours to bake. One hour covered and almost another full hour uncovered. Keep this in mind when you make this so you don't almost die of hunger by the time this casserole's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I'm giving this 4 stars due to the ratio being quite off. There needs to be more eggs to potato ratio. This is an easy fix. I've also read the reviews and heeded the advice of another and poured 1/2 cup melted butter over the frozen hash browns in the baking dish, cooked uncovered for 30 minutes. Then I add the other ingredients but I use 7 eggs and 3/4 c milk. I also mix season all salt into the potatoes, the egg mixture, and when I only have ground beef I use that too. This recipe can be played with in every which way. Change up the cheese to a Mexican blend, change the spices here and there, add or remove the inion. It's all very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great texture, lacking in flavor though. Decreased cheese, used a whole onion and added some mushroom and spinach, mixed ham and sausage for meat. Very good with ketchup, though! Will try red peppers with the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Everybody loved this Easter brunch casserole. I used 2 8x8 glass casserole dishes and increased to a dozen eggs. I only used about 3/4 of the bag of hash browns and it took a total of 20 minutes after I uncovered it. I will be making this again because it was great. Oh, and I added diced tomatoes to the egg mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States