Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made this casserole as written except for using pork chorizo for the sausage & adding frozen mixed sweet peppers. Delicious, especially with a splash of pepper sauce!! This was for the office Christmas potluck. I wanted to bring something to start our day with, it was well received. Will definitely be making this again for home & potlucks. Love that this recipe lends itself to a lot of creativity. Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I thought it was very good my kids also liked it. I used real potatoes instead we try to use fresh versus packaged foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Why do people give this a 4 star rating when they cut the amount of hash browns in half, pre-cook the hash browns, and add 50% more eggs and milk than the recipe calls for??? It is one thing to tweak a recipe and a completely different recipe when you substantially alter it! They were right about this recipe being dry and needing more eggs and milk. What I need in my saved category is the new altered recipe because when I pull up my saved recipes I don't always have time to read the reviews to remember - oh, yeah - add more eggs and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
really easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for my family for the morning after thanksgiving. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was trying to find a recipe that was similar to my mom's casserole and this was close but not quite it. Hubby took it to a potluck at work. There were 3 other similar casseroles. He said this one was the last to go. However, he did not bring home any leftovers. He said it was bland and I believe him as I wasn't overly impressed with the ingredients and directions but what are you going to do when your husband tells you the night before that this needs to made? I'll keep searching and let this recipe go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is my go-to dish for tailgating. My only adjustments are adding fresh garlic and some fresh jalapeños to give it a kick. I assemble it the night before and pop it in the oven in the morning as I gather my things for the game. It's still nice and hot when I take it out the parking lot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anunjose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We use 7 eggs instead of 5. And only 1lb of zesty hot breakfast sausage...delicious! My husband asks me to make this one for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We had this for Sunday breakfast and my kids and I liked it. We liked it enough to make it more. However, after reading the reviews and finding consistent comments about the amount of potatoes and eggs, I modified the recipe a bit. I only used 1 pound of potatoes (which I browned, salted, and peppered first)and I doubled the eggs and milk. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was so good, we are having it more often. I did change the recipe like others by adding a total of 9 eggs and added green chile to the sausage and onions. The chile was hot, so a little went a long way and added a lot of wonderful flavor to this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States