Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe many times since finding it on here. It is always a great hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as given, and as given -I'd rate it 3.5 stars. I used shredded dehydrated potatoes, that I re-hydrated and fried them. As others have noted, this was too much to fit comfortably into an 8x8 pan. So I put it in a 9x13. Since I changed the pan, it was spread "thinner" so I did a layer of cheese and sausage and topped with cheese again (vs trying to split the sausage in half" and I baked for about 45 minute instead. If left it uncovered a little longer, since I like a crispy topping :) It was moist and I enjoyed it. That said, it was a little bland for my taste buds. I would definitely make again but add a little "something" for my own personal taste :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
It was something different for breakfast , they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family is rating this recipe a 5. I, however, give this recipe a 3 rating. The casserole bursts with flavor on the top layer, but the bottom, filled with unseasoned potatoes, is bland. I recommend adding a can of cream of mushroom, 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1/4 cup of diced green bell peppers, and 1/8 cup of green onions to the egg mixture. To balance the flavor, for our next brunch, I will layer the potatoes with the egg mixture and the sausage and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added one more egg and 1/4 more milk. It was a little dry the first time. I also add green peppers. My husband loves this and we now make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelscookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The first time I made it (exactly per the recipe) the hash browns overpowered. Made it again, but this time I put in 10 eggs, 3/4 c milk, doubled the onion powder/garlic powder, added another 8oz shredded cheese, added a small can of green chiles, and a few fresh diced tomatoes. (and yeah, you'll need a BIGGER casserole dish!) It was much better, but still 'needs something'.. (e.g. gravy, picante, spinach, mushrooms, bell pepper, scallions, butter, sour cream, other herb/spice??). It's pretty filling and hearty with some decent ingredients, so I will be making it again -and continue the experimentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightSky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
it was ok next time i will omit some of the hash browns and add more eggs didnt seem to be able to taste the eggs but otherwise tasted fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delieura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Really good!! But instead of frozen hashbrowns I used fresh potatoes to make my own hashbrowns. Sauteed fresh mushrooms and red bell pepper with the sausage. I also used fresh sausage and skipped the salt. Next time I make it I am going to try it with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Ok. A little to much potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My family loves this recipe - prepare as written and double it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States