Hash Brown Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Fun, simple and delicious! I used a bag of refrigerated shredded hash browns, so I omitted step 2. I also added in some onion powder, but would like to try adding fresh onion next time. I could see adding a lot of different spices. I made mine smaller and got 6 out of the recipe. I cooked them about 5 mins. or so. I was worried about them sticking, but they didn't. Very cool and a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We are having a snowy day and since I had frozen shredded potatoes in the freezer this seemed like a good thing to try. I let the frozen potatoes thaw although they were still cold and I added a diced onion that I carmelized before adding. I must say that like waffles, my first one did not come out. My mistake was not spreading out the potatoes but piling it up in the center just like waffle batter. That didn't work and it was a mushy pile after 20 minutes. Once I spread it out thin, they cooked crispy and delicious. I believe I would add more than one onion next time (this one was rather small) and a little more garlic salt. Overall this was a good experience and we will do it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Wow, this worked great! I had a hard time getting them out of my waffle iron so I basically picked it up and dumped them, lol! I used my own seasoning with store bought refrigerator hash browns. I also used less oil but I made sure the iron had Pam on it. These were great and really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Creative! I liked the addition of smoked paprika and garlic for some extra flavor. This makes for a great breakfast sandwich also. Just use in place of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadesteva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was a success...I was looking to make a fun breakfast on a snow day, so I made a half recipe using defrosted and drained frozen hash browns. I am sure you could season according to your preference very easily - My waffle iron makes three small round waffles, about the size of an English muffin half, so I made some poached eggs and used the hash brown waffles as the base - so we had gluten-free Eggs benedict!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I actually used some thawed tater tots to speed things up! Added real bacon bits and some sharp cheese also....It was excellent! Make sure you oil or spray the waffle iron liberally when adding cheese. Do not open for about 8 minutes...came out crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe made four smaller waffles, which was perfect for our family. I used white potatoes and did not ice them. Also, we topped the waffles with shredded cheddar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
All I can say is delicious! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelsea
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I read some of the reviews before making so I chose to add onion to my first batch. I also threw in some shredded zucchini. The first one was a little mushy because I had the waffle iron on too low. Once I cranked up the heat the "waffles" turned out great. I served them with a fried or poached egg on top and a little siracha for some heat. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Ingenious... Came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren C Lay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States